We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Coral Gables

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Coral Gables to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Alhambra Plaza, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay More, Save More
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Surprising service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

The Hyatt seems to be the place to stay in Coral Gables. It was packed every night yet not crowded. The hotel was in an excellent location to walk to the Miracle Mile and get to all the restaurants, two blocks. The pool was pleasant and the sauna and steam room at the pool were nice surprises. There were more kids than I expected but it was the Christmas holidays. The walls were a bit thin and you could hear in the hall and next door. Just make your fair share of the noise and then you can't complain about the others.

The hotel staff was top notch, all of them. The front desk, the bell captain, the door service and yes I even spoke to housekeeping. Hands down they were attentive, had umbrellas at the front desk (yes it rained for four days straight - not the hotels fault though), brought extra hangers up in a flash and were all around helpful.

The in-house restaurant, Two Sisters, had a wonderful breakfast buffet but unfortunately closed for dinner in December. The dinner service at the bar was the same kitchen food, which was great but the dinner service in the bar stunk. As good as the food was, go out somewhere else for dinner, unless it's pouring rain.

Room Tip: Get the mini suite with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    254
    71
    37
    14
See reviews for
143
170
42
183
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
austin
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Every time we fly out of Miami we stay here. The hotel is gorgeous and the rooms are beautiful. It's impossible not to have a good nights sleep. The beds and pillows are amazingly comfortable. The staff goes out of their way to take care of every need and every time we stay it's always so perfect. It's in walking distance to so many great restaurants and if you decide to eat in the hotel food is amazing.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Coral Gables, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear livingood,

Thank you for going out of your way to share comments about your recent stay at our Hyatt Regency Coral Gables. I am excited to hear we are your preferred hotel when traveling to the Miami area. Our employees will be recognized for the wonderful service you experience. I hope to have the opportunity to continue to welcome you back as our guests!

Safe travels,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We booked this hotel by bidding on line and received very low rate. The hotel had all amenities of a 4**** hotel. Dining room breakfast buffet was very good although somewhat limited selection. We would definitely return at the price we paid.

Room Tip: We picked higher floor to avoid noises from lower levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Coral Gables, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you for providing your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Hyatt Regency Coral Gables. I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay and our wonderful dining options. I will forward all your feedback to our management team.

We would love to welcome you back and hope to see you soon. Thanks for choosing Hyatt.

Becky S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We booked a last minute getaway to Coral Gables and got a great deal on the cost of the room. The facility was beautiful, with a pool and jacuzzi in the courtyard. Our room was spacious and as always, we requested a quiet location. The room was away from the elevator and NOT quiet--heard numerous people walking down the hall after midnight. As frostbitecra2002 noted, the sheets on the bed were not fitted and came undone in the night. I am not sure the temperature controls worked because after adjusting them twice, the AC would go on, and then not cycle on again.
BUT the icing on the cake was when we relaxed in the jacuzzi and noticed when we were back in the room that both our swimsuits were ruined! I immediately called the manager and was told that engineering would check it out. When the manager called back, she said there was no problem with the chemicals, and that there must have been something on our swimsuits that caused them to be bleached out!!! She basically said I was a liar, and all she could do was give us a free breakfast.I told her the cost of the two suits was $160 and she said they couldn't do anything without a receipt for the bathing suits. At that point, I asked to have a superior contact me, and no one has to date.
When it came time to check out, I tried using the television to let Hyatt know of my displeasure but the "system was down" and I was unable to contact them. At check out I mentioned this and the cost of parking was taken off our bill. Since I finally had talked to someone reasonable, I mentioned the ruined suits, and the cost of the hotel was refunded. I would still like to talk to someone from Hyatt, since I do not appreciate staying at a 4 star hotel and receiving 1 star treatment when I voice my displeasure.

Room Tip: None since all rooms allow you to hear people's conversations as they are walking down the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

This hotel has a great location. If you stay in Coral Gables, you really don't need a car in Miami. You are within walking distance of the best restaurants in town. The building is historic, the lobby is very nice. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The food is nothing special (room service and breakfast buffet at Two Sisters). Also, there is no free Wi-Fi or parking for guests. Valet parking is $26/day and self park is $20/day. The business center is pretty pricey too.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Lauderdale, Fl
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Well, I was very happy that we had selected the Hyatt in Coral Gables as our option to stay during our "local get away weekend". Little did I know that we were going to be disappointed at the end of the weekend. We stayed only one night. Room smelled and the bed was made with not fitted sheets. There were no towels when we first arrived and room service was late and food was horrible.
Maybe because it was thanksgiving weekend or perhaps he staff was either still on a thanksgiving mode, but this is not the type of service we have come to expect from a Hyatt.
On a better note, the Hyatt is close to Miracle mile and centrally located to almost anything in coral gables.
Next time we're trying a different hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We enjoyed a couple of nights here last month visiting friends in Key Biscayne. We liked the location of the Hyatt very much - within easy walking distance of the main street in Coral Gables that has oodles of restaurants and shops to enjoy. The neighborhood felt very safe and was easy to navigate.

The hotel itself is well appointed and the higher floors have good views to the city of Miami. The pool area was very nice and not crowded when we were there.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Coral Gables

Address: 50 Alhambra Plaza, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
#3 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
#3 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Coral Gables 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the "Beverly Hills of Miami", Hyatt Regency Coral Gables, a stunning AAA Four Diamond hotel set in the heart of Coral Gables offers the unparalleled personalized service and luxurious accommodations that you seek for your weekend getaway. Relax by the pool with a fresh Mojito or enjoy regional flavors at Two Sisters, our award winning restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables Hotel Coral Gables
Coral Gables Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Coral Gables

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Coral Gables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.