We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Staff; great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Coral Gables

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Coral Gables to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Alhambra Plaza, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay More, Save More
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Staff; great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This hotel was very clean and the staff was friendly. No matter what time or how many times I called the front desk or concierge; I was assisted accordingly. We especially enjoyed the housekeeping staff who were very patient, not pushy and accommodated us in every way. Cabs are right outside the front door and lots of good restaurants as well. For the & days we were there; we had a wonderful time!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Coral Gables, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Hi onmywayback,,

Thank you for going out of your way to share comments about your recent stay at our Hyatt Regency Coral Gables. I am delighted to hear your remarks about our friendly & helpful staff. I will share your comments with our Director of Housekeeping who will recognize our housekeeping associates. I hope you will choose our hotel on your next trip to the area. Your referral is greatly appreciated!

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    262
    77
    40
    14
See reviews for
147
177
43
193
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Augustine, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The Good...
1. The location is very good with many shops and restaurants within a few minutes walk
2. The lobby is done in a beautiful spanish style.
3. The front desk staff were helpful and courteous.
4. The rooms have been renovated and have high end fixtures.

The Bad....
1. $18 a day for self parking and $24 for valet
2. The room felt damp and smelled musty.(It seems like all old hotels are like this)
3. The pool had a fair amount of leaves/debris and the water was cloudy.
4. The beds have very cheap mattresses but they do have good pillows.
5. Room service and the hotel restaurant have limited menus.
6. $10 a day PER DEVICE for WiFi

The Ugly...
1. Our TV had a what looked a large splatter of white lotion(or worse) on the screen.
2. Our shower/bath had a couple of large hairs from someone else's nether-regions on the shower wall.
3. The door jam of the bathroom was quite rotten and falling apart.

The bottom line is that I got a VERY discounted rate from a certain hotel bidding website so I wasn't that disappointed overall. However, I would have felt very slighted had I payed the normal rack rate. This is not a 4 Star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed for five nights from June 27th through July 2nd. It is the off season, so hotel was relatively quiet. This is a beautiful hotel in a cute, upscale neighborhood. The staff were very nice and helpful-- very good customer service throughout our stay. We have two children and they had a great time playing the swimming pool. The pool is between 4 and 6 feet deep, so perfect for them who are moderate swimmers. The pool area also included a hot tub and very nice outdoor bathrooms with a steam room. Our room was very nice and clean, the bathrooms were very pretty! There was only one issue with the parking -- the key card system (using the key card to swipe) wasn't working-- but this wasn't even an issue because the parking people just let us give our room number. I really liked how nice and responsive all of the staff were (such as with the parking key issue, which was the ONLY, very mild issue)-- I think that the staff being willing to fix any problem is really the mark of excellent customer service. From the front desk, to the restaurant staff, to the parking, to the housekeeping, without fail, everyone was extremely helpful and responsive, which was wonderful. The location was nice -- there was a lot within walking distance, which we really liked: lots of shopping--chain stores (Barnes and Noble), lots of bridal boutiques for some reason, banks, clothes, pharmacy, etc. There were a lot of food choices in the area, too-- upscale restaurants and grils/pubs, to more affordable fare like Panera, Subway, sandwich shops, California Pizza Kitchen, Denny's, etc. The location is far from the beaches, but we wanted quiet, we weren't looking for a 'south beach' experience. Plus the beaches were a quick drive away, so this was not an issue for us. Overall, wonderful trip and wonderful stay!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Coral Gables, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide such a thoughtful review. It sounds like you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your stay. I am delighted to hear that you found the customer service to be top notch. We have a great staff that wants to ensure our guests have everything they need to have a memorable experience. It sounds like your children really enjoyed the pool. Your recommendation is our biggest compliment. I hope we can welcome you back to Hyatt Regency Coral Gables in the future!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Hotel is very clean, efficient and friendly staff. Nice pool and exercise room. It is in an extremely quiet location and you probably would need a car if you are planning to see the sights in the Miami area. Good stay and good value although, like many hotels in this class, they charge extra for parking, internet, breakfast, etc.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Nice hotel, good customer service, nice location in Coral Gables, 10 minutes drive from the airport so I prefer it. However it is quite far from the south beach. Bar is good however food is below average.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights while visiting my son at school. The staff was 5 star across the board. My room was 1402 ..quiet, spacious and a comfy bed. The big downer is the restaurant. The breakfast was awful and the eggs tasted like water.( I had the buffet). The bar food was average at best. There are many other restaurants within a 5 min walking distance. The hotel is only a 10 min ride from the airport and close to the University of Miami which is great ..but miracle mile... a short walk from the hotel is a throwback to another time...if you don't absolutely need to be in Coral Gables I'd stay in Miami on the beach.

Room Tip: the 14th floor had nice high ceilings and was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I did not check carefully about the location of this hotel. It is very close to Miracle mile of Coral gables, however, if you are going to Miami beach on public transportation, it would take you at least 1.5 hour. We still figured out a way to get to the beach by taking bus #24 to downtown miami, then took either C or S line to Miami beach area. Overall, the room is very spacious and comfortable. But you have to pay everything, like wifi extra. They don't even provide wifi in lobby, which is really annoying. It smelled like kind of humidity when we walked into the room. But after the first night, we got used to the smell and decided to ignore it. The service is very prompt and you can ask a lot of things from the hotel, such as razor, comb, baby shampoo, makeup remover, wine opener, if you happen to forget bringing them with you. But just stay at those hotels on the beach if you are coming for the waters, cause parking and transiting will kill your nice mood and time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Coral Gables

Address: 50 Alhambra Plaza, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
#3 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
#4 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Coral Gables 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the "Beverly Hills of Miami", Hyatt Regency Coral Gables, a stunning AAA Four Diamond hotel set in the heart of Coral Gables offers the unparalleled personalized service and luxurious accommodations that you seek for your weekend getaway. Relax by the pool with a fresh Mojito or enjoy regional flavors at Two Sisters, our award winning restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables Hotel Coral Gables
Coral Gables Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Coral Gables

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Coral Gables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.