We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All hotels should be this great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Coral Gables

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Coral Gables to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Alhambra Plaza, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay More, Save More
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“All hotels should be this great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We had a pipe burst in our apartment and had to relocate for a week while repairs were made ... and the staff at this hotel made us feel as though we were at home! The hotel itself is beautiful, with an impressive lobby and pool. The rooms are typical Hyatt standard: clean, comfortable and luxurious. The hotel is located within walking distance of Miracle Mile, with restaurants at every price point. But, even though the hotel itself is lovely, the high point was really the staff ... they kept extending our stay as needed, even when it posed a problem for them (i.e. oversold) and they were as sweet and pleasant as can be. Moreover, we had beyond wonderful service at Two Sisters each morning for breakfast, with the servers all remembering our daughter's name and juice preference (word of caution: breakfast is expensive, we booked with our AAA discount and breakfast was included, otherwise it would have been roughly $50/day for breakfast for 2.) We have family that visit from all over the country, and this is now the only hotel we will recommend in the area. A+!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Coral Gables, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I am so happy to hear that we were able to provide you with a welcoming and comfortable place to stay while repairs were being made on your home. It is always wonderful to hear that our staff went above and beyond to accommodate you during your stay. The breakfast in Two Sisters is certainly quite exceptional and I am glad that you were able to get a special rate that included your breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you and your family to our hotel again in the future.

Abrea H. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    256
    71
    37
    14
See reviews for
145
170
42
185
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Just returned home from a week stay at the Hyatt. The staff was so helpful and friendly. The hotel was in walking distance of great shopping and restaurants. The lobby was beautiful, the rooms were kept immaculate, and the pool area had a great bar. When in the area, we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Coral Gables, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear sel228,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on our Hyatt Regency Coral Gables! I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed the location of the hotel as well as the decor. We cannot wait to welcome you back to our hotel next time you are in our area.

Anna M. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Good business class hotel, no restaurant in evening, no little store to buy anything either, but close to all the places to eat in coral gables, good bar, bar staff amazing, Tammy!!
Nice breakfast and also little coffee place to grab a coffee and muffin to go.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This was our pre- cruise hotel for a departure from Miami. It is a 4 star house and was an average experience. The desk, bell and restaurant service was excellent. The hotel is richly appointed as you would expect. It is clearly a major business and conference facility and its facilities and amenities are aimed at that market. The room and bath were medium sized and richly appointed and furnished. The first quirk was that the two beds were doubles, not queens. We don't remember this situation before at other hotels. Second the room was overly furnished- lots of large pieces. It had a large flat screen with just modest channel selections. While our breakfast was included- there is normally no complementary breakfast. Nor is the internet complementary ( $10 per day)- why is internet complementary at budget motels and charged for at 4 and 5 star houses? Good coffee is available in the room, but no microwave nor refer.
Next quirks- the thermostat was 6 feet up the wall behind the large mini bar furniture. The bathroom light was connected to a roaring exhaust fan- you got both or nothing. The bed and linens were very good; the towels and toiletries were average at best. For travel to the Miami cruise port this is not exactly next door- the bus ride was every bit of a half hour across town. This house has many of the features one expects in a 4 star house, but it is not consistent enough to rate above average.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

L'Hyatt Regency in Coral Gables is located in the heart of the Gables and from there you can easily walk to the Miracle Miles and to several restaurants.

The hotel looks great as soon as you walk in the lobby. Personnel is very nice and willing to help.

The rooms could use a little updating here and there. Nothing major, but they need more electrical outlets (I had to unplug the mini bar to charge our phones) and in a hotel of this kind and glamour, a vanity mirror in the bathroom should be basic.

The room is overall okay+. The best thing about the hotel is really the location. It was worthy for us as I got a great price via Priceline.

Also, great pool and nice fitness center and the buffet breakfast is great and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We moved from a "scary hotel" up the street to the Hyatt, what a lovely change! The staff at the door and front desk were welcoming and friendly. I received a great AAA rate but was not informed that it included breakfast until we were checking out! However, upon check out they removed the charge for the one breakfast we did eat in the restaurant. We would most likely have eaten there every day knowing that it was included in the fee. In addition, the waiter we had was very friendly and was working very hard - - but my breakfast was delivered wrong. While waiting for it to be corrected, parts of it got cold... as did my coffee. I think they may have been a bit understaffed in the restaurant. The young lady working behind the pastry counter went above and beyond friendly service. She would be the first to ask if we wanted something warmed up or plum washed. She was fabulous. Our room was very comfortable with a view over the pool. The housekeeper did a barely acceptable job cleaning the room each day. She did not restock the coffee and there was a hair that remained in the corner of the bathroom our entire visit (3 nights). In addition she did not take away dirty glasses from the previous nights room service. The beds were comfortable, the pool was lovely (the bathroom down by the pool is like a spa!) and the door staff and front desk staff, as well as room service staff were very friendly. Each evening the lobby bar hosts a happy hour from 5 - 7 for 1/2 off drinks.

Room Tip: If you are interested in spending time at the pool and gym ask for a room on the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

After housekeeping "serviced" room, there was a wet/ dirty washcloth on the bathroom floor. The coffee was not restocked and there were spilled coffee grounds and dirty glasses from the night before left behind. The maid opened our door at 8:37 am without knocking the next morning. Our room service order was late and the fruit was petrified. A horrible experience. We were also denied the opportunity to take a customer surgery before checkout because the system was "down".

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Coral Gables

Address: 50 Alhambra Plaza, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
#3 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
#3 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Coral Gables 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the "Beverly Hills of Miami", Hyatt Regency Coral Gables, a stunning AAA Four Diamond hotel set in the heart of Coral Gables offers the unparalleled personalized service and luxurious accommodations that you seek for your weekend getaway. Relax by the pool with a fresh Mojito or enjoy regional flavors at Two Sisters, our award winning restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables Hotel Coral Gables
Coral Gables Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Coral Gables

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Coral Gables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.