We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Coral Gables

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Coral Gables to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Alhambra Plaza, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay More, Save More
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Canyon, Texas
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Beautiful room décor (though that wooden chair was incredibly heavy and not terribly comfortable). The bathroom is spacious and pretty (though it needs more hooks or rods to hold towels and clothes). The pool was wonderful. This was my favorite spot in Miami -- the Hyatt pool. It was heated, so it was still comfortable in cooler weather. They had some inner tubes and pool noodles for kids. When we ran out of towels by the pool, the staff was quick to replace them when asked. There were several other instances where the hotel staff was prompt in answering questions or supplying a need. We were also impressed to receive a phone call from the front desk manager asking how our stay was going. If you need to park, be warned that it is $18/day in the parking garage, and you can't park for more than 4 hours on the street. P.S. Parking in Miami is currently 25 cents for 12 minutes, and we never saw a free parking space on any street. All of them have a meter you need to pay -- it may just be down the block. In that case, look for a number on the curb next to your car so you pay for the right space. Then go back to your car and put the receipt stub in the window (on your dash).

Room Tip: Get one that faces the pool -- it's a beautiful, peaceful view of the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    262
    77
    40
    14
See reviews for
147
177
43
193
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This hotel will make your Coral Gables visit a happy one. The front desk staff greets you with a smile, and can easily give you directions to the city whether you are walking or driving. The concierge is very helpful, and the housekeeping staff is efficient. We stayed 5 nights, and we enjoyed our stay so very much.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Coral Gables, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Janey871:

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your recent stay at our Hyatt Regency Coral Gables. Our front desk associates & concierge will be recognized for the great service provided while you were here. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Coral Gables!

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dripping Springs, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I wanted to send flowers to my wife who was staying at this hotel on a business trip. I called the hotel and spoke to Nick at the concierge desk. My simple request turned into many complications (not hotel's fault). When all looked bleak, Nick found a way to make it happen! And best of all, my wife LOVED the flowers!

WAY TO GO NICK!

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Coral Gables, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hello robert l:

Thank you for going out of your way to share feedback about the excellent service our Concierge, Nick provided during your wife's visit. We will be sure to recognize him for a job well-done. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and your wife back the next time travel brings you to our area.

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

For my daughter's wedding, we stayed at the hotel for two nights starting March 1st. We had two double bedded rooms and one Terrace Suite. The regular rooms were fantastic, spacious with very comfortable beds. The Terrace Suite was very large, facing the pool on the 7th floor, with a separate sitting area/living room. All rooms were recently renovated. We had no complaints whatsoever. The staff at the front desk were extremely helpful and accommodating; the Assistant Front Office Manager, Khadisha Malcolm, handled all my concerns regarding my reservation and stay promptly and efficiently. This a one person that really knows what customer service is all about. The hotel location in the Coral Gables area is unbeateable. Hyatt is wonderful!

Room Tip: Get a room facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Coral Gables, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review of Hyatt Regency Coral Gables. Congratulation on your daughters recent nuptials. We're glad our employees were able to provide personalized service that exceeded your expectations. We will ensure they are recognized for the great customer service they offered. We hope to have another opportunity to bring you back to our hotel! - Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Fl
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

For the price, this hotel is fantastic! I believe I booked it for $158 online and I was blown away by how beautiful and well appointed the room was for that price. Great location, beautiful lobby, quick service breakfast available. My only complaints are the parking fee (but standard for Miami) and the lack of free Wifi. I really can't believe hotels continue to charge their customers for WIFI. If Starbucks can give it away when I buy a $4 coffee, then my $150 hotel room can too. Seriously--demand your WIFI. I called the front desk and complained and they offered it complimentary.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
206 hotel reviews
Reviews in 161 cities Reviews in 161 cities
414 helpful votes 414 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Fantastic public areas & the hallways appear to have been updated, but the rooms are still not 5 star, even though Hyatt tends to "over-hype" all their properties as such. Examples? When is the last time you stayed in a hotel - 3, 4 or 5 star - that had flat screen TV's in the room, but did not had HD television service? As a result, the TV's at this hotel offer stretched & blurry viewing that I have not experienced in so long that I had forgotten what it was like. Same with the internet connection, if you can call it that. Something from the dark ages. When I complained, I was told that Hyatt had started to upgrade its HD TV & internet service 2 years ago, but encountered problems with their existing systems, so it had never been finished. Really? Only 2 years ago Hyatt decided to address the issue of improved TV & internet service? Amazing. This is what I mean about Hyatt over-hyping their 5 star properties, when, in fact, they are often 4 at best. Arrived in the room & found 1 water glass. 1 wash cloth. And a lounge chair that might be appropriate for a lobby corner, but certainly nothing that would invite a guest to sit & relax in the room. Still love the facility overall, & the staff, like at most Hyatt's, are top of the line professionals. 5 star public space & hallways, with 4 star rooms & amenities. Can't beat the location for Coral Gables however.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

- The good: great location in Coral Gables. Very impressive lobby with plenty of space to relax and take in the people coming in and out of the hotel. The bed was comfortable and the rooms clean and well appointed.

- The /not/ so good: service was erratic and very slow. Had to wait a few minutes to check in even though there were 4 clerks behind the counter. One was taking care of a customer while out of the other three, two were busy looking at a computer screen and the remaining one was on the phone. I can understand that. Check-in, once it started, was swift although they had trouble locating a room (it was 4pm when I arrived). The room itself was nicely appointed but it was right next to the swimming pool, only separated from it by a few bushes. This meant no view and quite loud traffic/voices from the pool area, in addition to a fairly dark room. I called the front desk to inquire about cab service to a nearby mall. The answer was that the clerk did not know how to get there or how much the service would cost. She would call me back. Never did. Called again and was put on hold. Three times. Gave up and hailed a cab from the street.

- Other: the breakfast buffet was acceptable and service at the lobby level restaurant was significantly better than elsewhere at the hotel. People were happy to be there and knew their business.

All in all I would only stay there again if my business took me there. This is not a good hotel for leisure travelers.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms at pool level
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Coral Gables

Address: 50 Alhambra Plaza, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
#3 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
#4 Family Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Coral Gables 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the "Beverly Hills of Miami", Hyatt Regency Coral Gables, a stunning AAA Four Diamond hotel set in the heart of Coral Gables offers the unparalleled personalized service and luxurious accommodations that you seek for your weekend getaway. Relax by the pool with a fresh Mojito or enjoy regional flavors at Two Sisters, our award winning restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables Hotel Coral Gables
Coral Gables Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Coral Gables

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Coral Gables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.