We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Great!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Coral Gables

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Coral Gables to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Alhambra Plaza, Coral Gables, FL 33134   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Gainesville, Florida
Top Contributor
313 reviews 313 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Almost Great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is truly a tough commentary for me as my wife and I stay here 10-20 days a year. The staff at all levels, the restaurant, the front desk, bell stand, valet, etc remember us and call us by name. The service is excellent with all staff exhibiting a true and sincere desire to serve and accommodate your wishes. The rub with this property is split between 2 areas, one being the fitness center and the other being the outdated AC units that are now highly inefficient at maintaining low humidity and reasonably efficient temperature control in either hot or cooler weather. We always reserve the Terrace Suite and enjoy the layout but the AC is becoming an issue for us. The second area is the Fitness Center. Granted, very few people are into fitness, but those of us who are have come to expect a little better than what this property has to offer. Namely, the universal gym is outdated, the dumbbells are limited in the weight variety and limited in range. There's only one medium ball for crunches, no foam roller, and the bench is unsafe in its design. I have suggested they put a little love into the fitness center, but alas it is obviously not a priority. Hence, I can only give this property a Very Good rating...sadly!

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    291
    89
    45
    17
See reviews for
161
204
45
213
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

It is always difficult to complain as you question whether you are too critical...that said after 28 years of weekly business travel, I know what's acceptable and what is not in a reputable hotel chain. This ranks amongst the worst hotels I have ever stayed in!!!! Our hotel room was piggybacked to the 3 elevators which we heard moving up and down the entire night...but let me not get ahead of myself. From the outside, this hotel is very nice looking, we arrived at around 1pm and were unable to receive a room until almost 4pm. The room is nothing to brag about, std hotel room for over $200/night, elevator noise was HORRIFIC. Check in staff was very friendly but monumentally slow in resolving issues. We only had 3 days at this hotel and I spent most of my second day waiting for a room change. On the bright side, they did upgrade our room, but still horribly noisy as walls, doors, and door gap allows other guests noise to seep into our room. Bed was much better, but furniture and decore is still very dated, bathroom fan is on anytime you turn on the light and it sounds like a jet engine taking off...great for anyone trying to sleep...forget about the late night urine break!!! Overall, I would not recommend this hotel, although it has a nice looking pool, rooms are very average and outdoor jacuzzi is impractical for more than 4 people, even at that it is so shallow it just is not enjoyable. DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS PROPERTY!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Coral Gables, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear TPK007:

Thank you for going out of your way to share feedback about your recent stay at our Hyatt Regency Coral Gables. We're sorry to hear your stay didn't meet your expectations. I would like to speak with you directly with regards to your comments about the noise issues you experienced. Please feel free to contact me directly, as I'm happy to assist.

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Got a one nite for $100+tax on Priceline. Big king room and pool w whirlpool, sauna, and steam room made it a steal for the area. Front desk friendly; Not a $270 per nite deal at anytime/for any reason, just what the market will bear for convention goers. Wifi, parking et al @high price corporate rates.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montecito, California
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Went here on a business trip and it was perfect for just that. For vacation this is not the hotel for you. The first room I checked into was big with a plastic covered Murphy bed. Once I got a nicer room with a real bed it was very comfortable. Beds are great, the restaurant is good the pool is perfect for laps and nicely heated in February. The workout room is very small and it is a $35 cab ride to the beach. The people are good although the front desk could use some better training since I am a Platinum member and asked for an upgrade and a quiet room and got a Murphy bed on the first room and 8 feet from the ice machine on the second. Familiarity with your own hotel is a good training exercise.. Other than that it is a good place for a conference etc. A side note the cuban restaurant around the corner is horrible.called The LAs Vegas. The Chicken was very dry the ropa vieja was stringy and tasteless. I love Cuban food and look forward to having it whenever in Miami. Find another place to eat.

Room Tip: The rooms and bathrooms on the upgrade are quite nice and worth it. Be aware of the ice machine at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Just got back from a 3 day conference held at the Hyatt Regency Coral Gables. While an older property, the hotel was an excellent place to hold a conference. All the conference facilities were very close to the lodging. Many different conference room sizes. The food for breakfast and lunch was fresh and plentiful. The staff, conference, front desk and house keeping all went beyond the call of duty, extremely polite and friendly. The hotel was in a great location with many restaurants and bars within easy walking distance. I visit alot of conference locations, and I very much enjoyed the comfort of this property.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Coral Gables, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
I really appreciate that you took the time to provide such wonderful feedback in regards to your recent stay at our property. I’m pleased that you found the conference facilities to be excellent. I’ll be sure to share your kind words about the staff and their terrific service with our management team. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated. I hope to welcome you back to Hyatt Regency Coral Gables in the future!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Top Contributor
274 reviews 274 reviews
129 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
999 helpful votes 999 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I stayed in a Terrace Suite for 3 nights at the Hyatt Regency Coral Gables on a recent business trip. Despite a few service blunders, overall the room was spacious, the hotel was well located, and I would return.

The Terrace Suite was almost a one bedroom suite except for the 2 open doorways between the bedroom and living room--with the air/heat controls and vent located in the corner of the living room. To me, a true one bedoom suite has doors completely separating the bedroom from the living room, so this didn't qualify--as was apparent when I had a friend crash with me and sleep in the pullout sofabed in the living room. The outdoor terrace was spacious, but was VERY dirty, both the floor and windows looking like they hadn't been washed in months if not years. The bath was reasonably spacious, though the toilet area didn't have a door to separate it again.

We had a huge service blunder our first morning when the concierge woke us up at 8:30 am Sunday morning, calling to indicate he would deliver us the NY Times. Then he actually knocked on the door and delivered it 10 minutes later. We had a do not disturb sign on the door. I was outraged.

I spoke with a manager who helped rectify the situation, giving me free room service breakfast for the duration of my stay as compensation for the error. She also helped when housekeeping never came to clean the room later that same day.

The hotel is well located for business in downtown Miami or nearby Coconut Grove, without being in the craziness. There are nice restaurants within walking distance. But if you are looking for a tourist locale, this isn't likely to be it.

Overall, I would consider returning to this property were the rate again appropriate for the room/service I received.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Very nice elegant hotel. Nice big rooms , great service. The staff is very nice and they are willing to help all the time. Rooms are elegant, big and really clean. The hotel is very near the best malls, 15 min from best malls and restaurants. My best experience in Miami.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Coral Gables, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Rosy32:

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your recent stay at our Hyatt Regency Coral Gables. It's great to hear how much you enjoyed our hotel. We greatly appreciate your comments about our nice & helpful employees. Hyatt takes great pride with this, and they will be recognized for their efforts. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Coral Gables

Address: 50 Alhambra Plaza, Coral Gables, FL 33134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Coral Gables
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Coral Gables
#4 Business Hotel in Coral Gables
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Coral Gables 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the "Beverly Hills of Miami", Hyatt Regency Coral Gables, a stunning AAA Four Diamond hotel set in the heart of Coral Gables offers the unparalleled personalized service and luxurious accommodations that you seek for your weekend getaway. Relax by the pool with a fresh Mojito or enjoy regional flavors at Two Sisters, our award winning restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Coral Gables Hotel Coral Gables
Coral Gables Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Coral Gables

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Coral Gables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.