We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and drinks in a lively setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hillstone

Hillstone
201 Miracle Mile, 1300 Blue road, Coral Gables, FL 33134 (Formerly Houston's)
(305) 529-0141
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 275 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Estero, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good food and drinks in a lively setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Our family enjoyed a late dinner on a Monday night with charming Carlos as our server. It was very busy, with many families and groups of singles, when we arrived at 8:30 pm. As the hostess predicted, it took about 30 minutes to seat our group of six. The drinks were tasty (especially the elderflower and grapefruit collins) and a favorite pinot noir (Belle Glos Clark & Telephone) was available at a value price. The food was flavorful and well-presented (grilled chicken salad, cheeseburger and French dip sandwich earned raves) and dessert (tres leches cake) was a standout. And Carlos did an awesome job!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    57
    11
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santos
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great lunch and awesome desert!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Hillstone is a cool and fancy place. I had a pleasant experience with my family there. The staff was great and as soon as you order the plate does not take long to arrive. We had a starter, and then the main plates and after that the greatest desert ever...Tres Leches cake. I certainly recommend an experience there.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm City, FL
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Noisy and a weird policy when it comes to beverages but yummy food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

My boyfriend and I stopped by Hillstone last weekend. It was confusing from the outside, as the sign over the door says "Hillstone" but the sign on the door says "Houston's." The waiter explained that the restaurant is still owned by Houston's.

Anyway, my S.O. order a blood mary which came with little or no ice and not one bit of garnish - no celery, no olives, no nothing. The waiter said that's "just how they make them." He brought garnish after it was requested. My water came without ice, too. I guess they are saving on ice.

Anyway, the food was really delicious. I had a French dip that melted in my mouth and was cooked rare, just as I requested. The roll was yummy, too.

My boyfriend loved his meal, too, though I've forgotten now what it was, so the food experience was great.

The only part I really didn't like is how noisy the place is. The high "industrial" ceiling has nothing to absorb sound, and there was little else there to help. I'd probably go back for the food but not for the environment.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great restaurant in coral gables”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My wife and I went to Hillstone in Coral gables. The food was excellent and the service phenomenal. My wife had the spicy tuna rolls they were delicious. Also I had the burger along with a draft beer and it was to die for. My wife had the tiny French dip au jus sandwich and it was delicious ( I hate half of it) . Great place to take the wife or significant other.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coconut grove
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Average at best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The place is inexplicably crowded and so you'll be rushed. The food is mediocre at best and the service is downright unpleasant. I can't say anything to recommend this place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hillstone also viewed

 
Coral Gables, FL
Coral Gables, FL
 

Been to Hillstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hillstone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.