We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hillstone

Hillstone
201 Miracle Mile, 1300 Blue road, Coral Gables, FL 33134 (Formerly Houston's)
(305) 529-0141
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #23 of 268 restaurants in Coral Gables
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This restaurant is in a good location, very convenient, which is the reason we went there. I assumed it would just be another chain but I was pleasantly surprised. They had some great fish specials that day and the tuna burger was really delicious. The service was also very good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    52
    54
    11
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Can get busy and defninitely not the cheapest eats in town, but...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

If you are looking for an up-beat atmosphere with good service, food, and drinks, this is one of the best places I've found in Coral Gables. It's a chain and I have eaten in their other locations in Chicago and NYC and this one is just as good as the others.

It is a little pricey. For me to have a steak with sautéed spinach, a dinner salad, and 2 beers the bill was $65 before tip. So that gives you an idea. Also, it's crowded pretty much every night so go before 6 or after 8:30 unless you don't mind waiting about an hour for a table.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Dinner with Grandparent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I was babysitting my 18 month old grandson and decided to go out for an early dinner. The entire experience was wonderful - from the 2 lovely hostesses who sat us and set up the booster seat (it clipped on the table) to the servers for our table. Our order came out promptly and they seemed to anticipate our needs. THANK YOU so much we had a great time! We loved our veggie burger patty, cous cous salad, and all the sides. Yummy!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Sushi Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

While shopping one afternoon in MIracle Mile during our recent trip to Miami, we passed by Hillstone and decided to eat there for the first time. The place was very busy and we had to wait a good 30 minutes but had drinks meantime. The ambiance is very nice, good music and the food was pretty fresh and tasty.

There are not a lot of menu choices but the food is good.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Former Houston's always good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Consistent and always good! We will always continue to go to Hillstone for great food in Coral Gables.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hillstone also viewed

 

Been to Hillstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hillstone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.