We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Former Houston's always good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hillstone

Hillstone
201 Miracle Mile, 1300 Blue road, Coral Gables, FL 33134 (Formerly Houston's)
(305) 529-0141
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 266 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Former Houston's always good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Consistent and always good! We will always continue to go to Hillstone for great food in Coral Gables.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    120
    23
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“No other place like Hillstone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

16 years ago I refuse to visit Houston, but our friends insisted that the place was great and kid friendly had a new born!! Well 16 years later now with 3 boys 16-14-12 is still our favorite place to eat for us and kids, phenomenal staff their concept of customer service equally applied by their staff is truly unheard of nowadays!!!!!
Thank you Hillstone for all the years of great times.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We went to Hillstone at Coral Cables to have a lunch early July with our friend.
Staff was immediatelly serving and took our drink orders immediatelly. Staff was very friendly from the start and for me as lactoce intolerant, waitress proposed Thai steak & noodle salad which turned to be my very 1st time to eat noodles in the restaurant but I must say not the last. Taste was excelent, spicy enough and I took it with beef which was also prepared exactly as I wished. Very good!
And all others were also satisfied of their dishes and service. Service was so exeptionally good that our friend gave very positive feedback to restaurant manager before we left.
Environment is probably too noicy but all tables were separated well so we didn´t notify that much.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mount royal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great late dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We had a late dinner here while staying in Coral Gables in July. Though it was very crowded, we were seated right away by friendly hostesses. Our waitress was very friendly and hospitable. We ordered their spinach dip which was AMAZING. we also split our entrée since it was a large portion. It was a nice and enjoyable meal for our first night in Coral Gables during our vacation.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Staff was on point, and speed of service was quite fast. The decor is trendy, and the bar scene is very lively. Very busy restaurant, you might wanna get in early unless you don't mind waiting. I generally prefer the bar. Food tasted great, nothing memorable, but great overall.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hillstone also viewed

 

Been to Hillstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hillstone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.