We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great late dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hillstone

Hillstone
201 Miracle Mile, 1300 Blue road, Coral Gables, FL 33134 (Formerly Houston's)
(305) 529-0141
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 270 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
mount royal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great late dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We had a late dinner here while staying in Coral Gables in July. Though it was very crowded, we were seated right away by friendly hostesses. Our waitress was very friendly and hospitable. We ordered their spinach dip which was AMAZING. we also split our entrée since it was a large portion. It was a nice and enjoyable meal for our first night in Coral Gables during our vacation.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    135
    27
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Staff was on point, and speed of service was quite fast. The decor is trendy, and the bar scene is very lively. Very busy restaurant, you might wanna get in early unless you don't mind waiting. I generally prefer the bar. Food tasted great, nothing memorable, but great overall.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, FL
Level Contributor
149 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A Family Favorite!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We come to Coral Gables with our four hungry teens quite often as my son is a football commit at the U. There are so many choices for dinner on the Miracle Mile and I'd like to try them all some day, but my family won't let me. They can't wait to return to Hillstone aka Houston's. The boys love the ribs and the girls love the Hawaiian Ribeye. We always start with the smoked salmon- it's awesome. The drinks are fabulous as well as is the service. The manager is always more than accommodating. My husband dreams about the hot fudge sundae - not to be missed but big enough to share! Do not miss this place!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norcross, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Thursday night family fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great place to eat any day of the week. Always busy, make sure you are not in a hurry. Outstanding sercive and great food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

we usually have at least one meal here while coming to the Gables, and although the staff is very friendly, it seems each preceeding time gets a little off as far as food. The menu has gotten small and the variety is lacking. It was acceptable but they have the market for enticing patrons because the location is superb.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hillstone also viewed

Coral Gables, FL
Coral Gables, FL
 

Been to Hillstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hillstone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.