We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food in a restaurant that knows how to deliver it all.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hillstone

Hillstone
201 Miracle Mile, 1300 Blue road, Coral Gables, FL 33134 (Formerly Houston's)
(305) 529-0141
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 266 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Reston
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Excellent Food in a restaurant that knows how to deliver it all.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Excellent food and service. Lovely atmosphere as well. Be sure to try the key lime pie. A top pick by my gown son, who normally doesn't eat dessert except for this. A bit noisy if you want a quiet cozy place this might not be your choice. Very, very popular with usually a wait.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    120
    24
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Consistently great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Good food. EXCELLENT cocktails. Good atmosphere. Try the crab cakes (lump crab meat), the super thin french fries, the grilled artichoke and the tuna steak.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

We ordered the Sante Fe salad and drinks. Great atmosphere, lots of menu choices. Maybe a little expensive but not bad for a coral gables.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comins, Michigan
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“I'd go back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

This was my first time at the Hillstone. Dined with four co-workers and had a nice time. We all thought the food was good, not great. No complaints, it was what you'd expect at that price point. Location is great. Service was above average. We had a wonderful server who went above and beyond to make the night an overall positive experience. Do recall that the server made excellent wine recommendations.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“The best crab cakes, artichokes and veggie burger anywhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My menu choices don';t vary much, but my three options are as good as they get, anywhere. This place is packed all the time and any reasonable lunch or dinner hour is packed and with waiting time. The bar service is good and the drinks generous. The wine list is mostly well chosen and moderately priced.

There is a reason why this Hillstone's and only this one, is packed every day. It is consistent and excellent in every way.

On occasion someone writes a nasty review about this location, including one dissing cleanliness. I would discount such a review as being a disgruntled person for some reason. Food preparation is open, clients can watch their own food being prepared, and there is even an overhead mirror to permit easy viewing of the sushi preparation. The restaurant has been immaculate every time I have been here, and food preparation and presentation has been impeccable.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hillstone also viewed

 

Been to Hillstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hillstone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.