We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful selection, ambiance, exceptional service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fontana

Fontana
1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
305-445-1926
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 274 restaurants in Coral Gables
Price range: $25 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Granada
Description: One of the few remaining Miami locales offering traditional English afternoon tea, the Biltmore is arguably the most elegant venue, with its soaring vaulted ceiling, magnificent lobby and majestically mantled fireplace. The refreshing repast is served daily and is complemented with and elegant harp weekdays and music of an accomplished classical guitarist on the weekends. During the holiday season guests can expect themed pastries.Reservations are recommended.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful selection, ambiance, exceptional service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

I took my wife here for an anniversary Sunday Breakfast/Brunch. Absolutely amazing experience, excellent, attentive service, wide selection of various options from omelette to caviar. Strongly recommended!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    112
    40
    10
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Most beautiful hotel with gorgeous grounds.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

The Biltmore and its grounds are so pleasing and lush. Love having lunch in the courtyard area and the service is so old world and professional. Walking around the property and seeing the exotic pool, golf course, gym and the stunning lobby with the most colorful little birds in the ornate cages is amazing!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
“Service Equivalent to a 1 Star Dinner”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

The experience for 7 business people at a Place labeled to be a 5 Star Hotel and Restaurant was absolutely unacceptable!
From the get go the waiter Kevin and servers could not get the right type of water to the persons who ordered it, three times over and over again!
Then our table got served two plates (we had not ordered yet) that was meant for another tables!
Only 6 main course meals were served, while the 7th was forgotten ( the waiter said it was a miscommunication). Until the 7th meal arrived those waiting ended up eating cold sea platters.
People who ordered Nutella dessert got the fruit tart, the person who ordered the vanilla pistachio ice cream got vanilla chocolate ice cream!
When waiter Kevin was informed about the (new) mixed up them only thing he would say was sorry!
I strongly believe that although the food was good the resonance and memory of the bad service equivalent to a 1 star dinner will keep all of our business group and acquaintances away from this local!
The lack of service could be due to the already charged and included tip!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homestead, Florida
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Now Thats Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

What a fantastic meal we had. Our Sommelier was great our server (Giovani) was fantastic and the food...wow.
The wife had the risotto with seafood(off the chain) and I had the traditional Carbonara and it was delicious. The portions were huge and we were so full we could not finish or even have reset. Next time, thats a must. Try the salami and cheese appetizer really good. We will be back, for sure.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Go on, spoil yourself!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We had only stopped by for coffee and a look at the fabulous lobby, but once we sat down in the cafe by the vast swimming pool, we decided go stay for breakfast. What a good idea that turned out to be! The offee was delicious and copious, the charming servers very attentive and friendly. I chose the Eggs Benedict, which were superb - The best I've had since the Castle Hotel in Dartmouth, England.

I would return again and again if I lived in Florida.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fontana also viewed

 

Been to Fontana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fontana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.