We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fontana

Fontana
1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
305-445-1926
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 273 restaurants in Coral Gables
Price range: $25 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Granada
Description: One of the few remaining Miami locales offering traditional English afternoon tea, the Biltmore is arguably the most elegant venue, with its soaring vaulted ceiling, magnificent lobby and majestically mantled fireplace. The refreshing repast is served daily and is complemented with and elegant harp weekdays and music of an accomplished classical guitarist on the weekends. During the holiday season guests can expect themed pastries.Reservations are recommended.
far hills, nj
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Everything was perfect from being greeted,seated,provided a drink and given recommendations for the apply and entre. Food was delicious. A smoker lite up a table away thankfully we were just finishing dessert and coffee .

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    111
    40
    10
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
far hills, nj
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very nice stay - the pool is awesome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Besides the nice clean room and friendly staff - the hotel is steeped in history and charm. Pool side service could be better

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston MA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Attentive Service, Very Friendly Chef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This was a restaurant visit that I will remember forever. The Italian food was amazing, freshly made pasta, sauces were delicious without being overwhelming. Portions more than adequate. Taste was superb. Price was reasonable, Wine was great. The chef and maitre'd both came and chatted with us and then supplied complimentary freebies when I was asked "What is... ?" Everything about this meal, restaurant and service was perfect. We almost ate there 2 nights in a row but thought we should at least sample the other local restaurants. I will definitely be back and highly recommend this to any one, any family, any group.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Exquisite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We came here based on Miami spice reviews. The appetizer was a spinach souffle with a jumbo shrimp. It was unusual and delicious. I ordered the chicken beast stuffed with cheese, spinach , and ham. We also ordered the homemade pasta with sausage. Both dishes were fresh and very good. Dessert was a pudding with chocolate touches. Service was excellent. Temperature was a little warm in the room and they turned on a fan for us. Get the valet parking ticket stamped before you leave. We will return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Magnifico!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Fabulous location in The Biltmore Hotel. Seating inside or out...both wonderful options depending on the weather. Ever present Manager who is on his toes tending to anything and everything, making each visitor feel like family. Excellent wait staff...we loved "Mary", our superb waitress! The wine offerings were limited but well chosen. The food was fabulous...we especially loved the bolognese...tasted like Grandma's! The fabulous new Chef is a tremendous asset to this dining option and has personality to boot. Don't miss this!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fontana also viewed

 

Been to Fontana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fontana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.