We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful outside protected tables by a fountain and delicious food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fontana

Fontana
1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
(305) 913-3200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 274 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Price range: $25 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Granada
Description: One of the few remaining Miami locales offering traditional English afternoon tea, the Biltmore is arguably the most elegant venue, with its soaring vaulted ceiling, magnificent lobby and majestically mantled fireplace. The refreshing repast is served daily and is complemented with and elegant harp weekdays and music of an accomplished classical guitarist on the weekends. During the holiday season guests can expect themed pastries.Reservations are recommended.
sarasota FL
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful outside protected tables by a fountain and delicious food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Breakfast here is excellent. We ate the buffet daily but ordered a fantastic gruyere omelette in addition... off the menu. I don't think there is better food or service anywhere I have ever stayed.
Only request is to offer a stronger more full bodied coffee than Lavazza but then I may be off base as they are catering to Europeans who make up 90% of hotel guests. So I took a little ride to a local starbucks to get my coffee fix one morning.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    42
    11
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best Sunday BRUNCH Anywhere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

While in Miami Beach for a long weekend, my husband and I were on a quest to find a great Sunday brunch and were referred to The Biltmore Hotel. It was the most unbelievable spread of food we had ever seen...and we do brunch a lot. Highlights were a carving station with beef, salmon lamb and more; a seafood buffet that included king crab legs and fresh sushi; a custom pasta station; an enormous salad bar; a buffet of typical breakfast items plus omelettes made to order; and, a separate room full of desserts with the best homemade ice cream filled crepes! You also receive bottomless mimosas and/or champagne. All of this is enjoyed in the Spanish-style hotel's beautiful outdoor courtyard with live entertainment. Now, all of this extravagance does come with a price -- $79 per person. Quite honestly, it is a once in a lifetime experience and truly worth it. The hotel is about a 15-20 minute drive from Miami. Be sure to walk the property while you are there, or take one of their free guided tours.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“1926 - society life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Just go and take a look at the building - one of those hotels that remind you of how really wealthy people spent their time in a different age

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale FL
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Tea Time at the Legendary Biltmore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I brought some girlfriends down to Miami to have an elegant English style tea in the lobby of the Biltmore for a baby sprinkle and was so impressed by the tea selection, the live finger style guitar music, the delicious sweets and savories that were presented on a three tier stand, and most importantly the wonderful service by tea connoisseur, Ligia. With so many selections of loose teas ranging from whites to blacks to greens, my party settled on masala chai, peach, English breakfast and my all-time favorite chamomile. Ligia brought us clotted cream, lemons, and milk, promptly upon request and works the floor in such an elegant way. My friends and I got lost in conversation and the ambience of this historic hotel....the ceilings are just exquisite and we took a lot of photos next to the gargoyle on the staircase. What a beautiful way to spend a Saturday with friends before baby arrives. KUDOS Biltmore!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“richest brunch probably in the whole world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

we went to Biltmore in october 2012, for the sunday brunch, just me and my BF.
location: very beautiful. elegant courtyard with tables in the middle for the guests,and all around the court big tables very well presented with all kind of food you can imagine.
food: .sweets (even the chocolate fountain!), pastry, meat, fish, sushi,fruit, pasta, pizza.....each table with his chef. never seen such an amount of food so well presented all together.
everything server with champagne or what you prefer.
Service: perfect.everything.
price: well, it's actually pretty expensive, but for a culinary experience that i 'll never forget, who cares?

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fontana also viewed

 

Been to Fontana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fontana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;