We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic, historical & more” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fontana

Fontana
1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
(305) 913-3200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 307 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $80
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Granada
Description: One of the few remaining Miami locales offering traditional English afternoon tea, the Biltmore is arguably the most elegant venue, with its soaring vaulted ceiling, magnificent lobby and majestically mantled fireplace. The refreshing repast is served daily and is complemented with and elegant harp weekdays and music of an accomplished classical guitarist on the weekends. During the holiday season guests can expect themed pastries.Reservations are recommended.
Miami
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Classic, historical & more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This is another must. Built in the 1920's Well kept. Classic food and service on the Biltmore Golf Course.
Movie stars from the Golden Age have stayed here. Was an Army Hospital during WW11. Clark Gable was a paitient here. Near Venetion Pool in the Heart of Coral Gables. Another must visit.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank ralpael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Outstanding Pasta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Homemade pastas and a special everyday. Best part was that any dish could be a half order. Seafood specials everyday were fresh. Stone crab claws were in season during this visit and they were amazing.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank sunandsandseeker13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good but not up to par”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The hotel is nice and the staff is very courteous but they dropped the ball on our arrival amenity and our town car to a near by restaurant. They also kept asking, at the pool, if we were guests at the hotel?!?!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jocey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fontana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Sometimes we have to visit the big city, and sometimes the big city delivers as it should. Fontana is one of the Biltmore's restaurants, and we sat by the eponymous fountain, and had a most excellent experience. A bright and almost cool fall day under an umbrella, the splashing fountain, the sparking prosecco and impeccable food. I reluctantly agreed to the tiramisu, usually a tired choice, and found it as splendid as the rest of the meal. As bothered as I am by traffic to the Miami airport, I look forward to the next required trip.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Discriminant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

A little pricey, but in line with the area. Service was excellent. Dining in the open space was magnificent!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank LSB073060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fontana also viewed

 

Been to Fontana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing