We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic, historical & more” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fontana

Fontana
1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
(305) 913-3200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 274 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Price range: $25 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Granada
Description: One of the few remaining Miami locales offering traditional English afternoon tea, the Biltmore is arguably the most elegant venue, with its soaring vaulted ceiling, magnificent lobby and majestically mantled fireplace. The refreshing repast is served daily and is complemented with and elegant harp weekdays and music of an accomplished classical guitarist on the weekends. During the holiday season guests can expect themed pastries.Reservations are recommended.
Miami
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Classic, historical & more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This is another must. Built in the 1920's Well kept. Classic food and service on the Biltmore Golf Course.
Movie stars from the Golden Age have stayed here. Was an Army Hospital during WW11. Clark Gable was a paitient here. Near Venetion Pool in the Heart of Coral Gables. Another must visit.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    117
    40
    10
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Outstanding Pasta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Homemade pastas and a special everyday. Best part was that any dish could be a half order. Seafood specials everyday were fresh. Stone crab claws were in season during this visit and they were amazing.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good but not up to par”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The hotel is nice and the staff is very courteous but they dropped the ball on our arrival amenity and our town car to a near by restaurant. They also kept asking, at the pool, if we were guests at the hotel?!?!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fontana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Sometimes we have to visit the big city, and sometimes the big city delivers as it should. Fontana is one of the Biltmore's restaurants, and we sat by the eponymous fountain, and had a most excellent experience. A bright and almost cool fall day under an umbrella, the splashing fountain, the sparking prosecco and impeccable food. I reluctantly agreed to the tiramisu, usually a tired choice, and found it as splendid as the rest of the meal. As bothered as I am by traffic to the Miami airport, I look forward to the next required trip.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

A little pricey, but in line with the area. Service was excellent. Dining in the open space was magnificent!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fontana also viewed

 

Been to Fontana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fontana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.