We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not up to par” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fontana

Fontana
1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
(305) 913-3200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 275 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Price range: $25 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Granada
Description: One of the few remaining Miami locales offering traditional English afternoon tea, the Biltmore is arguably the most elegant venue, with its soaring vaulted ceiling, magnificent lobby and majestically mantled fireplace. The refreshing repast is served daily and is complemented with and elegant harp weekdays and music of an accomplished classical guitarist on the weekends. During the holiday season guests can expect themed pastries.Reservations are recommended.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good but not up to par”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The hotel is nice and the staff is very courteous but they dropped the ball on our arrival amenity and our town car to a near by restaurant. They also kept asking, at the pool, if we were guests at the hotel?!?!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    45
    11
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fontana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Sometimes we have to visit the big city, and sometimes the big city delivers as it should. Fontana is one of the Biltmore's restaurants, and we sat by the eponymous fountain, and had a most excellent experience. A bright and almost cool fall day under an umbrella, the splashing fountain, the sparking prosecco and impeccable food. I reluctantly agreed to the tiramisu, usually a tired choice, and found it as splendid as the rest of the meal. As bothered as I am by traffic to the Miami airport, I look forward to the next required trip.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

A little pricey, but in line with the area. Service was excellent. Dining in the open space was magnificent!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamorada, Florida, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice every time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The food and service at the Fontana is very good. It's very centrally located to meet friends and have a drink, or spend the day by the pool.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Romantic Ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

If you like dining under the stars, than you will love this one. Excellent ambience is folowed with food that will satisify any palet. Was able to experience since I stayed at the Biltmore, fontana is one of the resturants at the Biltmore. Very good service.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fontana also viewed

 

Been to Fontana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fontana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.