We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fontana” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Biltmore Hotel

Biltmore Hotel
1200 Anastasia Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
305-445-1926
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 267 restaurants in Coral Gables
Price range: $50 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Granada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fontana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Sometimes we have to visit the big city, and sometimes the big city delivers as it should. Fontana is one of the Biltmore's restaurants, and we sat by the eponymous fountain, and had a most excellent experience. A bright and almost cool fall day under an umbrella, the splashing fountain, the sparking prosecco and impeccable food. I reluctantly agreed to the tiramisu, usually a tired choice, and found it as splendid as the rest of the meal. As bothered as I am by traffic to the Miami airport, I look forward to the next required trip.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    56
    19
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“beautiful grounds and golf course!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

this is a nice hiddend treasure in miami, that feels like a different world from miami. i played golf on their course, and although i did have an unexpected close encounter with an alligator on one of the holes, but i was told he's a "local" and not to worry about it.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Biltmore is a historic treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Very nice historic building. Great service and fantastic patio and pool... Quiet and well maintained.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Brunch - so overrated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Miami is my home base and for years I've heard of the 'iconic' Biltmore Brunch', so we tried it. If you are a person who values quantity over quality, you'll like it. If you don't mind awful, thick champagne flutes into which is poured good quality French Champagne, this is your place.
There is no finesse, a guitar player connected to a synth-orchestra machine, mediocre quality meats, pre-frozen shrimp, the juices are not freshly squeezed (the OJ reminded me of the frozen stuff you used to buy and mix with water), poly-blend napkins, ugly tableware and no indication of where the line begins for each food station (there are nine), so people from the left and people from the right converge on the staff behind the stations, making for uncomfortable 'who is next' issues. The quality of the food vs. the $75 p/p price makes this a clear loser from a 'value for money' perspective.
I recommend you try The Setai on Miami Beach instead. Fine linens and glassware, a jazz trio with no synth, a much more elegant environment, and food of a completely different quality (ie better) catagory than the Biltmore's just OK selection of cheese, meat cuts, pasta (especially poor and boring) and so forth.
Didn't appreciate seeing several employees on their mobile phones behind the stations during slow minutes, and an overall ' let's get this over with' staff attitude.
Om the positive side, napkins were usually refolded when leaving / returning to table, and the Mumm's Champagne was a good quality and offered frequently.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Consistently great.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Love this hotel. Great pool. Great bars. lovely rooms; great service;great restaurants. A favorite. No more to say when everything is wonderful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Biltmore Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Biltmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Biltmore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.