We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creative Genius with a wonderful atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yuga Restaurant

Yuga Restaurant
357 Alcazar Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
305-442-8600
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 276 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Cuisines: Japanese, Vegetarian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Miami
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Creative Genius with a wonderful atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Going to Yuga is like going home. Everything and everyone is wonderful and accomodating. Chef (Owner) Johnson Teh and his wife Kazu will impress you with their creative and delicious talents. We have enjoyed dinners there and at their other restaurant, Lan Pan Asia, for years.

If you want delicious, creative asian food, Yuga and Lan Pan Asia are exciting.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    13
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Thomasville, Alabama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great place to go for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Fast and great food. Had the beef curry lunch special- came with soup, salad and California roll.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami, fl
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Japanese & Thai little gem in the gables”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

The place is in Coral Gables not a big location but the food is good. The place never disappoints in its spin on the Thai or Japanese take on food in creativity. I had the pork spring rolls that were nice & crispy not greasy as in some places. The kimchee steak was good but portion was little small. My partner had the Duck Curry which was very good but not too much sauce was served with it like other Thai Curries that I have had but the taste was very good.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fine food, outstanding value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

The atmosphere is pretty industrial but the food--Asian fusion is extremely good and the menu innovative. The owner hosts are gracious and the prices very affordable indeed. Between us we had a very fine shrimp dish with lemongrass, an interesting curry, blendind Indian and Thai flavors and an excellent fish. They also have very good appetizers. One of the best values in Coral Gables. They only accept reservations for parties over five.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A different sushi experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

I'm a sushi lover and we had a coupon from restaurant.com to try out this barely new place in Coral Gables. The location is not seen from the main street, it's almost hidden.

You must park using the meters on the street, didn't have trouble with that since Alcazar street is pretty quiet. Take change so you can pay the meters.

There was no wait to seat down but there was a bit wait for a server to help you. We wait about 10-15 minutes for our server but we were not rushing, place was full. My wife and I liked the way Yuga looked, almost like a modern-looking sushi place but looks like a fast food place.

The greeter lady seemed very nice and so as the server so that kind of paid off for the wait, I only noticed 2 servers for the whole place.

We ordered the Crispy Pinenut Snapper which brings 3 nice size filets in top of a saffron-soba broth and topped with like sweet patatoes strings. It was served in a big deep bowl and the tasty was very different and I really enjoyed it. Fish seemed fresh.

For sushi we ordered "Mystery Roll" which is another name for volcano roll and the "Dragon Roll". The mystery roll is california rolls topped with the seafood mix, it was good but not my best. Rolls were small and seafood mix was a bit cold.

The Dragon Roll was pretty good, rice was a bit cold which makes the sushi experience not as good but it was tasty. I like when the rice feels fresh and not cold, room temperature is better.

Dessert was my wife's favorite part of the dinner, we ordered "Banana Cheesecake Tempura". It was like fried wontons with banana and cheesecake inside topped with sugar powder and caramel. Delicious is the word to best describe it

So yes some rolls are cheap compared to many sushi places, the big plates are shareable but rolls are small sized.

Go and try it, its a nice quiet spot in Coral Gables.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yuga Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Yuga Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yuga Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.