We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like I was in Germany” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fritz and Franz Bierhaus

Fritz and Franz Bierhaus
60 Merrick Way, Coral Gables, FL 33134-5319
305-774-1883
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 274 restaurants in Coral Gables
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Austrian, German
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Felt like I was in Germany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

The food was excellent. My husband's family all lives in Germany. The food here is authentic German cuisine. I felt like my mother in law was in the kitchen cooking. The beer is also so good. Management and service was outstanding! Viele Dank. Susan

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    33
    11
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great and friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

I thought the service was excellent! The combination of friendly service, delicious food, authentic German beers, and a fun ambience were the perfect combination for a great time!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Walked in as an American, left as a German.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Fritz and Franz Bierhaus is the perfect place to be a regular. Their pretzels and beer are a must have. The staff is extremely friendly and the service is fantastic. The only bad thing about the fritz is that once you've had a sip of authentic German beer you never want a watered down 12oz Budweiser again! I recommend the Fritz to anyone who wants GREAT FOOD and EXTRAORDINARY BEER!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Springs, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A bit of Germany in Coral Gables”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Excellent food and service. Bastian as a drink mixologist rocks! October Fest celebrations are one of the best. This restarurant is centraly located, with plenty of covered parking. Sunday evenings parking is free. Also plenty of parking meters around the block.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miarunner
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“An ogre for an owner”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

After a coed sporting event several friends and myself went to this establishment to have some drinks, some food, and enjoy ourselves. After making our first drink order (I should mention that I have no beef with the wait staff. They were actually apologetic about their crazy boss and very nice) the owner (a loud and boorish portly German man) decided to turn up the music in the place so loud that no one could hold a conversation. One of the women in our group politely asked him to turn it down some so we could actually hold a conversation. His response was that we could either stay and take it or leave. Our female friend said she would leave. The rest of us decided we would go outside and sit at an outside table. Our waitress understood and was going to close out our inside tab so we could open one with the outdoor waitress. As we began to make our way outside we were stopped by the owner who proceeded to accuse us of trying to steal his beer mugs and that we would not be served outside--that he had kicked us out of his restaurant because our female friend had argued with him about the music. Incredible. I will never again patronize this restaurant and I encourage anyone thinking about visiting it to reconsider. I really cannot see putting anyone's hard earned money in the hands of such a rude, ungrateful bully.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fritz and Franz Bierhaus also viewed

Coral Gables, FL
Coral Gables, FL
 

Been to Fritz and Franz Bierhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fritz and Franz Bierhaus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.