We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but overpriced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sushi Chef Japanese Restaurant & Market

Sushi Chef Japanese Restaurant & Market
3100 Coral Way, Coral Gables, FL 33145 (Formerly Sushi Chef)
305-444-9286
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 285 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Description: Sushi Chef Japanese Restaurant is the brain child of Executive Chef Fusao Enomoto. Born in Akita Prefecture in Northern Japan, chef Enomoto was interested in the culinary arts at a young age. He moved to Tokyo and in 1958 he entered the Tokiwa-ya company, supplier to the Imperial Household Agency (office to the Emperor and Empress and other Imperial Family), where under the tutelage and guidance of Grand Chef Ryozo Satoh he starts his education and training obtaining his license cook certificate in 1960. In 1965 he travels to Caracas, Venezuela as the Japanese Embassy's attache and later that year to the Embassy in Bucharest, Romania. To further his cooking career Chef Enomoto moves to Paris, France where he becomes a classical trained French chef. He practice his new skills in France and soon retires from the Japanese Embassy to look for better opportunities. He goes back to Caracas in 1971 to open Kamon Restaurant, Venezuela's first Japanese restaurant with much accolade. With this success in 1978 he opens Avila Tei Restaurant, which is a fine cuisine Japanese restaurant which these days is still open under Chef Enomoto majority partner. In 1984 Chef Enomoto travels to New Jersey on a new horizon as the Head Chef of Tokyo Restaurant for many years. Chef Enomoto and his family travel to sunny South Florida and in 1991 establish Sushi Chef Japanese Restaurant where in the beginning was a Japanese market and a few tables for lunch. As the years went by Sushi Chef has grown to be one of Miami's hidden treasures for locals to get their Japanese food. In 2011 Sushi Chef celebrated 20 years of great food and service where Chef Enomoto is still amazing his customers with one of Miami's best Japanese dishes.
Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice but overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

This old family business has a really good menu, they have a extensive variety of sake, very traditional and fusion sushi options, it has a japanese market, the place decor does not impress at all, it need a make up very badly I know Enomoto San, he's a very good chef, also his creations, I believe is the best sushi around the area but definitely overpriced. It's a place for lunch.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    6
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Sushi Headquarters in Miami!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Just as I had previously awarded the "headquarter" calification to another sushi restaurant in Bogotá, after stopping at Sushi Chef in Miami, I have to admit that it is the place for sushi in South Florida. A few weeks back in Japan I had the chance of trying multiple sushi places and Sushi Chef is good as the top sushi places in Tokyo and Kyoto. Very fresh, very well cut, juicy fish. to topi it all, the entire staff including Enomoto San make you feel that there is no better place to be.
Thank you all, will definetely see you soon!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“My favorite Sushi in town !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I have being coming to this place for years , is the best in town the owner is always there and they treat you like family .. My favorite now is the Tuna Tataki with a Kirin light beer ant hot saki ,,, then the Chilean bass with lemon ginger and steam stir fry vegetables and the special rice ...deeeelicious !!
Great value ! good prices ! BEST SERVICE

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“First time...New Favorite Dive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My boyfriend and I wanted somewhere quick and quiet to go for lunch and were in the mood for sushi. We started driving along Coral Way and found this hidden gem. Everything is so quaint about this place. While the exterior does not look like much, the inside is very clean and decorated nicely. The one flaw in an ordering misunderstanding was corrected quickly. The food was excellent - better than many larger sushi restaurants in this area that I've been to. The service was perfect. We've decided this is now our new local lunch spot.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent sushi / japanese cuisine - anywhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Once again we had an excellent meal at Sushi Chef. The best part for me is when i enter the restaurant and I see Enamoto San behind the counter. Classically trained japanese chef with also a background in French cuisine and world traveler. I am the type of person that hates going to the famous chef restaurants and he is not cooking ! Its like going to see the Miami Heat play and the announcer saying John Doe is playing instead of Lebron James!

Anyway, please take time to explore the menu and try to exit your comfort zone of what you know japanese cuisine is. Try the different plates. I had Yanagawa, a plate of eel with an egg surrounding and onions which was awesome, flavorful and balanced. The Ceviche Sushi chef also very well executed, balnced of acidity, avocado smoothness and fresh fish. We had a crunchy salmon roll also very good. Chef Enamoto french cooking skill comes out in the dessert. We ordered the cream filled doughnuts....awesome. Not too sweet, cream of white chocolate buttery and the dough crunchy.

To finish, the service was excellent, i wish i could remember her name but she attentive, her knowledge of the extensive menu down pat, and, lastly thanked me at the end using my last name when she returned my card. Details that matter to me.

So..go for the food and not the decor and explore the menu.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Chef Japanese Restaurant & Market also viewed

 

Been to Sushi Chef Japanese Restaurant & Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushi Chef Japanese Restaurant & Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.