We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice corner in the heart of Coral Gables” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cafe at Books & Books

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Cafe at Books & Books
265 Aragon Ave, Coral Gables, FL 33134-5008
305-448-9599
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating
Level Contributor
66 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice corner in the heart of Coral Gables”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Great location, situated in the heart of Coral Gables. This is a fantastic Book Store and the café has the tablea in the little outdoor square situated in the center of the store. Large cgoice of national and inported beers. Good choice of food selection. Service is a bit slow, but life is too good to rush things. This is the place to relax feed the brain...and i you get thirsty or hungrey get simething for your stomach. Enjoy!

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Antonello P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Coral Gables, FL
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Usually fast, great before Coral Gables Art Cinema”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I have eaten here often. Its a nice menu, not a large selection but what they have is well made. It's easy for me to get a few gluten-free items like salads. They are able to modify dishes to suit my diet by leaving off gluten-containing items. I've never gotten sick from gluten contamination here. And of course, you can't go wrong being surrounded by books! If you are eating before seeing a film at the cinema across the street, strongly recommend that you tell the server at the outset. We've had two frustrating experiences where the kitchen really seemed to dawdle (the cafe was nowhere near packed) and we had to rush to finish our food to get to our film. But overall, they are fast, delicious and affordable.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marielle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida Panhandle, Florida
Level Contributor
253 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Service ruins a magical place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Been going to Books & Books in the Gables for almost 25 years. Loved the old location but this one plus the new Miami Beach digs are handsome.

Of over 100 reviews I've written, this is one of the worst. I've eaten here successfully and enjoyably a number of times. There are worse things than eating among books :). The last THREE times I have been here, service has been non-existent. Last week I simply left after finally receiving a menu then being left to wait for over 10 minutes without a flicker of acknowledgement. This is unacceptable, even in Miami where service is lackadaisical at times. My food review is based on previous visits. The Cafe at Books & Books is a profound disappointment when compared to the fine store it is located in.

    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mibenco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Level Contributor
86 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Cozy gathering spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

My husband and I usually stop by this cafe before going elsewhere for dinner although we have eaten dinner here a couple of times. The food is good but the best thing about this place is the ambience. This is more than a typical bookstore cafe. They play music in the outdoor courtyard every Friday and Saturday (unless it rains) and they have a good selection of beers and wines. We like to browse the books and then sit at the bar chatting with the owner and bartender. They have a fairly large group of repeat customers. It is also a great place to go to before or after movies at the art-house cinema across the street.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

great Coffe pastries and books. What more could you ask for. must visit.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jennydiaz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cafe at Books & Books also viewed

Coral Gables, FL
Coral Gables, FL
 

Been to The Cafe at Books & Books? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing