We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual dining next to Coral Gables” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Uncle Tom's Barbecue

Uncle Tom's Barbecue
3988 SW 8th St, Coral Gables, FL 33134-2948
305-445-0844
Improve this listing
Ranked #80 of 280 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Price range: $12 - $12
Dining options: Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Miami
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Casual dining next to Coral Gables”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

This BBQ has been in business for over 50 years because of its great food. Consistant great BBQ year in and year out. It has lasted because locals return for their BBQ fix.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    12
    4
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Great lunch specials until 3 pm. I had the ribs with two sides and soup or salad for under $7, great deal! Service and atmosphere were great too. Can't wait to go back. By the way, ribs were delicious!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Very Good Ambience!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

The food was great, wish the restaurant was bigger. The music was excellent. The guitarist is great , think his name was William and he plays very good. Next time I'll go, I'm going to ask him to play a song for me....Love baby back ribs.. Yummy!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“very good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

i see it's been a year and a half since this place was reviewed, and maybe things have changed in the kitchen & waitstaff. my friends & i thought it was very good barbecue. i had the half baby back half chicken and it was very tasty. a BIG thumbs up for the black rice & beans as a side. I went back the next day for lunch. businessman's special was a sandwich, 2 small sides and a drink for under $10. well worth it.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Not what you're looking for”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

This place is a fraud, it looks good driving down the street but it's not authentic BBQ. The menu has more Cuban choices than BBQ choices. The BBQ Pork sandwich seemed like it was roasted Cuban pork splashed with some BBQ sauce and put on a bun. Look elsewhere for BBQ.

  • Visited September 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uncle Tom's Barbecue also viewed

Coral Gables, FL
Coral Gables, FL
 

Been to Uncle Tom's Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uncle Tom's Barbecue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.