We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Happy Hour Spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of John Martin's Restaurant

John Martin's Restaurant
253 Miracle Mile, Coral Gables, FL 33134-5907
305-445-3777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #101 of 271 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Price range: $18 - $30
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Ponce DeLeon
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good Happy Hour Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Nice place for a few drinks and a good place to gather with friends. Mainly a bar in my opinion a great place to start the evening or have happy hour before walking to the other restaurants in the area. Their food is good but you feel like you are having dinner in a bar.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    21
    8
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coral Gables, Florida
Level Contributor
116 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Food is okay mostly a bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This place is a friendly bar with lots of regulars. Lunch is a bit pricey. many Irish specialties. Good shepards pie.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isla Verde Carolina PR
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Happy Waitress Contagious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Very early dinner so not too many patrons. Tuesday. Excellent service with a very happy waitress. Good wine. Very fresh oysters and good escargot. Food was good specially the Irish Mix Grill. Same for the corned beef with boiled cabbage and boiled potatoes.Reasonable prices in a very different ambiance. Definitely will be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“For the tourists”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I'm a 30 year Miami resident and have been frequenting John Martin's for approximately 20 years. The bar owners are Irish born and raised as I know a few Irish who have relocated to Miami. The food is average at best. There are much better less expensive places on Miracle Mile. We used to frequent the bar/restaurant at least 5-6 times a year, however the food quality has gone down and their food and drink prices have gone up substantially.

I went to a party there Saturday night and they charged me $13.50 for a Cosmopolitan with Grey Goose. With tip it came out to $15.50. That's pretty outrageous.

If you do eat here the Irish Breakfast is okay and the Irish Brown bread is authentic.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
78 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Irish Bar and Restaurant in the Gables”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

John Martin's is our regular place to eat when we are tired of cooking. Food is great, atmosphere too. It is a great place to go whether you want to be in casual attire or dressed-up before or after the theatre located on the Mile across the street. The feeling that you can come in have a good meal and relax and not over pay for quality food is outstanding.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John Martin's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to John Martin's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John Martin's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.