We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Waitress Contagious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of John Martin's Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
John Martin's Restaurant
253 Miracle Mile, Coral Gables, FL 33134-5907
305-445-3777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #113 of 280 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Price range: $18 - $30
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Ponce DeLeon
Isla Verde Carolina PR
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Happy Waitress Contagious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Very early dinner so not too many patrons. Tuesday. Excellent service with a very happy waitress. Good wine. Very fresh oysters and good escargot. Food was good specially the Irish Mix Grill. Same for the corned beef with boiled cabbage and boiled potatoes.Reasonable prices in a very different ambiance. Definitely will be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    15
    4
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“For the tourists”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I'm a 30 year Miami resident and have been frequenting John Martin's for approximately 20 years. The bar owners are Irish born and raised as I know a few Irish who have relocated to Miami. The food is average at best. There are much better less expensive places on Miracle Mile. We used to frequent the bar/restaurant at least 5-6 times a year, however the food quality has gone down and their food and drink prices have gone up substantially.

I went to a party there Saturday night and they charged me $13.50 for a Cosmopolitan with Grey Goose. With tip it came out to $15.50. That's pretty outrageous.

If you do eat here the Irish Breakfast is okay and the Irish Brown bread is authentic.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great Irish Bar and Restaurant in the Gables”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

John Martin's is our regular place to eat when we are tired of cooking. Food is great, atmosphere too. It is a great place to go whether you want to be in casual attire or dressed-up before or after the theatre located on the Mile across the street. The feeling that you can come in have a good meal and relax and not over pay for quality food is outstanding.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
436 reviews 436 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 167 cities Reviews in 167 cities
344 helpful votes 344 helpful votes
“A poor imitation of an Irish Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Made the mistake of eating here on a Saturday night. Place was quite busy as there was live music scheduled for the evening.

Service very hit and miss and food was OK but nothing special. The band were AWFUL - they came from the school of "Play it loud". The guy on keyboard was good but the lead vocalist couldn't hold a note and could only sing in the key of flat. Even changing hats for every song did nothing to improve his slurred and off key singing. If you like badly sung R&R and average food then you will love John Martin's.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey Shore
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“An American idea of an Irish Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

What is the point of creating a place that looks Irish, tastes Irish, but sounds like American Rock? John Martin's tries to offer an upscale Irish experience but it is spoiled by a music seen pounding overhead that says average American bar. The food was good but not the best Irish we have had, the service solid but not great. We had to ask three times to get our picture taken. Somehow though, offering a couple of Irish dishes and a couple of Irish beers is just too little to make this an Irish place. If I want to see Itialian food in an Irish place, how about Shepard's pie at an Italian joint? Nice to say I was here but would not come back again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John Martin's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to John Martin's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John Martin's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.