We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not miss the sea bass!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Fish Grill

Red Fish Grill
9610 Old Cutler Rd, Coral Gables, FL 33156-4268
305-668-8788
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Red Fish Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 273 restaurants in Coral Gables
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Old Cutler
Description: Remember when Matt Dillon was eavesdropping on Cameron Diaz in the movie "There's Something About Mary"? They were at Red Fish Grill. And what a location! Whether dining outside under the Palms at the edge of Biscayne Bay or in the historic coral stone dining room, this restaurant is like nowhere else. It's a slice of Florida that disappeared long ago in most parts of Miami. But it's a lot more than atmosphere that brings in the locals and notables. The menu is dedicated to fresh local seafood, cooked with a gourmet twist, sometimes Caribbean... sometimes Asian. Best bets: Fennel Seared Yellowfin Tuna on Crispy Wonton, Crab Cakes with Tropical Melon Slaw, Red Snapper with Shaved Red Onion Fennel Salad, Herb Crusted Sea Bass with White Bean Ragout, homemade Key Lime Pie and Caramel Flan with Toasted Coconut. And a wine list that's reasonable and varied. Please visit our website for further details.
Ft Lauderdale
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Do not miss the sea bass!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I was brought here for a romantic date night and could not be more impressed. Besides being a beautiful place with a great view, the service really was top notch. We started with the calamari which had a great touch of spiciness with the sweet sauce, and followed with the sea bass for me and the hangar steak for him. Let me tell you, the sea bass was exquisite. The sauce was absolutely perfect and the spinach so fresh, I ate in tiny tiny bites so that it would last longer. We finished with the key lime pie and it was just the right mix of sweet and tart. Definitely a meal not to be missed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    48
    35
    9
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
“Romantic scene, Delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

My wife & I came here about a week after we returned from our honeymoon and we were wowed! We made reservations on opentable.com for what we thought was Saturday at 7pm but when we arrived, found out that our reservations were actually for Sunday (oops!). No fuss was made (although we would have understood), and we were promptly seated by the host who said he understood the dilemma and said we couldn't sit outside but the inside seating was readily available. We were highly impressed by the service and even more by the delicious food we shared: appetizer (sour watermelon shrimp ceviche & jalea mixta) , entree (grilled salmon & caribbean bouillabaisse) and desserts (key lime pie & coconut flan) - Btw their Miami Spice menu is rockin'!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great food, perfect atmosphere, brilliant staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We ate here in September 2013 as part of a special trip to Miami for my girlfriend's 21st.

The atmosphere is the first thing to mention - the outside seating is beautiful. The dark skies contrasting with the candles and lights around the trees made for a lovely setting.

Food-wise, we were very impressed. Everything tasted fresh and yummy. The waiting staff knew the menu and were able to advise on the dishes on offer.

Unfortunately for us it rained shortly in to the meal, so we had to move inside. But it was still very nice.

The staff were very pleasant.

One small negative; the bread that was brought to our table wasn't particularly great. One would hope with a classy restaurant with prices to match that the bread would be slightly fresher. This tasted a bit 'shop-bought'. But that's the only downside.

It is worth noting that the restaurant is slightly out-of-the-way. We took a taxi and, in hindsight, I wished we'd driven. Not only did it cost a bit more than I would've liked to get there, but the taxis in Miami are appalling. We waited for over an hour to get one to pick us up to take us back again.

Highly recommended.

Be sure to book in advance.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Perfect Evening - Thanks Red Fish Grill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My wife and I had our first trip together to Miami last week, and the first night we at at the Red Fish Grill. This will be a short review. Romantic Atmosphere, attentive and friendly service, outstanding food. I had the Hanger steak with the chimmichura (sp?) sauce. My wife had the Salmon. 10/10 on both meals. Also had a shrimp cervice, and another seafood app that had scallops and calamari. We consider ourselves "foodies" who rarely can afford a $150+ meal (there was a bottle of wine ordered as well) - and this place did not disappoint. PERFECT for an anniversary date (it was our 20th) -- or any date for that matter. Hope to return next time we go to Miami.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavares, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great View....food...meh!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The location of this place in the middle of Matheson is gorgeous! It is romantic, beautiful and the breeze and palm trees ad to the ambiance. I have been there before and the service is usually very good. This happened to be one night when I think the server had a bad day or was pissed in general. His service was flat, lacking and we felt like we were bothering him when we needed something. The food came and for the price, it was just OK.....the prices here are expensive and a couple w a meal and one glass of wine will run you $100 if not more. We left feeling like we could have had a better meal somewhere else. Beautiful place, food is usually better but it can be a hit or miss.
I agree with another contributor that this is not a kid friendly place....the prices if they eat off the adult menu is $$$$$$~!!!!

Hope this helps you!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Fish Grill also viewed

 

Been to Red Fish Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Fish Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.