We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local Treasure!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Fish Grill

Red Fish Grill
9610 Old Cutler Rd, Coral Gables, FL 33156-4268
+1 305-668-8788
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Red Fish Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 284 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Old Cutler
Description: Remember when Matt Dillon was eavesdropping on Cameron Diaz in the movie "There's Something About Mary"? They were at Red Fish Grill. And what a location! Whether dining outside under the Palms at the edge of Biscayne Bay or in the historic coral stone dining room, this restaurant is like nowhere else. It's a slice of Florida that disappeared long ago in most parts of Miami. But it's a lot more than atmosphere that brings in the locals and notables. The menu is dedicated to fresh local seafood, cooked with a gourmet twist, sometimes Caribbean... sometimes Asian. Best bets: Fennel Seared Yellowfin Tuna on Crispy Wonton, Crab Cakes with Tropical Melon Slaw, Red Snapper with Shaved Red Onion Fennel Salad, Herb Crusted Sea Bass with White Bean Ragout, homemade Key Lime Pie and Caramel Flan with Toasted Coconut. And a wine list that's reasonable and varied. Please visit our website for further details.
MIAMI, FLORIDA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Local Treasure!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I've been to Red Fish Grill for dinner half a dozen times in the last couple of years. The setting always takes my breath away... There is no other like it in Miami. It truly is unique! The building itself looks like a historic Florida home; made of oolite rock and wood; spectacular views of the bay and Matheson Hammock Park. At that time of day the park is closed, so you won't find the beach crowd. The food is very good, not great; but that won't keep me from going again. Last time I had the seared yellow fin tuna. It was very fresh tasting, and the portion was generous.
Service was attentive.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    41
    12
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting for a wedding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We were guests at a wedding this weekend and the event was magical! From the beachfront ceremony to the transition to the reception... all wonderful!

Our fish entrees were fresh and delicious and the service was attentive and very friendly. I wouldn't hesitate to come back for dinner anytime.

Sunset was amazing!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida Keys
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“What A Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The location on Biscayne Bay in incredible and the food is outstanding. This is a don't miss while in Miami

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Food with a View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The restaurant is amazing. Great food and ambiance. Daytime is perfect by the lagoon, nighttime is great with the tiki torches and atmosphere. The food is excellent.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A waterside fantasy of a place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My first trip to this restaurant and we were all mesmerized y the beauty of its surroundings. Unique coquina building with open outdoor dining among trunk-lit coconut palms throughout the patio. A great sample of what Miami outdoor dining can be in the cooler, yet drier months of winter. The food was good, though the soups came in lukewarm instead of hot, once returned and brought back at the right temperature, the taste was unique. sweet plaintain soup with mussels and crabmeat. The main entrees were nicely prepared and well presented. The service lacks thorough training to be good. It was mediocre at best. The servers didnt notice that there were missing pieces on one table setting, and we had to ask for bread and butter, and later for salt and pepper. While he had the "tonight's specials" well memorized, he failed to suggest taking our drink orders. We asked him to take it for us. Upon the food being brought to the table, the server asked whom had the snapper and whom had the crabcakes. This is a basic expecation of a good trainer to have servers ID the dining guests so to not have to ask for whom's the food belongs to later, and how to read the table to ensure that it is properly set. Management seemed to be around, but they seemed to be running with little attention to supervising the servers.

All this can be overlooked because of the beautiful ambiance of the locale.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Fish Grill also viewed

 

Been to Red Fish Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Fish Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.