We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A waterside fantasy of a place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Fish Grill

Red Fish Grill
9610 Old Cutler Rd, Coral Gables, FL 33156-4268
305-668-8788
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Red Fish Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 273 restaurants in Coral Gables
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Old Cutler
Description: Remember when Matt Dillon was eavesdropping on Cameron Diaz in the movie "There's Something About Mary"? They were at Red Fish Grill. And what a location! Whether dining outside under the Palms at the edge of Biscayne Bay or in the historic coral stone dining room, this restaurant is like nowhere else. It's a slice of Florida that disappeared long ago in most parts of Miami. But it's a lot more than atmosphere that brings in the locals and notables. The menu is dedicated to fresh local seafood, cooked with a gourmet twist, sometimes Caribbean... sometimes Asian. Best bets: Fennel Seared Yellowfin Tuna on Crispy Wonton, Crab Cakes with Tropical Melon Slaw, Red Snapper with Shaved Red Onion Fennel Salad, Herb Crusted Sea Bass with White Bean Ragout, homemade Key Lime Pie and Caramel Flan with Toasted Coconut. And a wine list that's reasonable and varied. Please visit our website for further details.
Coral Gables
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A waterside fantasy of a place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My first trip to this restaurant and we were all mesmerized y the beauty of its surroundings. Unique coquina building with open outdoor dining among trunk-lit coconut palms throughout the patio. A great sample of what Miami outdoor dining can be in the cooler, yet drier months of winter. The food was good, though the soups came in lukewarm instead of hot, once returned and brought back at the right temperature, the taste was unique. sweet plaintain soup with mussels and crabmeat. The main entrees were nicely prepared and well presented. The service lacks thorough training to be good. It was mediocre at best. The servers didnt notice that there were missing pieces on one table setting, and we had to ask for bread and butter, and later for salt and pepper. While he had the "tonight's specials" well memorized, he failed to suggest taking our drink orders. We asked him to take it for us. Upon the food being brought to the table, the server asked whom had the snapper and whom had the crabcakes. This is a basic expecation of a good trainer to have servers ID the dining guests so to not have to ask for whom's the food belongs to later, and how to read the table to ensure that it is properly set. Management seemed to be around, but they seemed to be running with little attention to supervising the servers.

All this can be overlooked because of the beautiful ambiance of the locale.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    48
    35
    9
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Loved the view, but not our food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

If you've never been to this restaurant by all means try at least ones. Just driving to it at night is an intriguing and amazing experience. The view is phenomenol! However in our opinion (4 of us) the food leaves a lot to be desired. The calamari was good (arrived in a flash). My friend and I ordered the cobia which tasted terrible too much cumin mixed with a strong fishy taste is not a good combo. My husband's snapper was good I ate his instead. Very expensive for the quality of food.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Bring MacDonalds and KFC for the kids”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We suppose the Red Fish has a nice ambiance when you arrive early enough to see the lagoon. Our meal was mixed at best. The calamari was great, as was the snapper, salad and tuna tartar. But: the "Jumbo Lump Crab Cakes 18" were anything but ... they were typical roadhouse five-dollar Maryland crab cakes, with stringy claw meat mixed with more breading, nicely crispy but not a lump of crab to be found. They weren't jumbo, nor was the crab. We guess the jumbo refers to the price.

The "kids burger" was charred to oblivion and could not be saved with plastic packets of catsup. The second child wanted chicken, so we foolishly agreed to pay full price ($25) for a tasteless and overdone hunk of chicken breast ... akin to your grandmother's turkey breast. Red Fish makes it clear that children are not welcome.

A nice wine list makes cruise prices look like bargains.

But we suppose if travelers like us make the mistake of coming once, Red Fish will stay in business.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Most Romantic Restaurant in Miami”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

How else would you describe dining under the stars and swaying palm trees looking out across Biscayne Bay at the jeweled twinkling Rickenbacker Causeway, the skyline of Miami and the not to distant flash of the lighthouse at the end of Key Biscayne. The staff is exceptional with non-intrusive service. The seafood is very nicely done. We started with a cobia cerviche followed by a delightful presentation of perfectly grilled Mahi Mahi and Chilean Sea Bass. Due to the hidden nature of this gem you don't get a lot of tourists or children. Tables are discretely seperated and your conversation is your own, shared with no one but the breezes.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp - Belgium
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Seaside Diner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The outside dining at sunset is fantastic as is the quality of the fresh seafood and fish
Very friendly staff and excellent food.
A hidden gem slightly south of Coral Gables right on the waterfront of Biscane Bay

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Fish Grill also viewed

 

Been to Red Fish Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Fish Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.