We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Fish Grill

Red Fish Grill
9610 Old Cutler Rd, Coral Gables, FL 33156-4268
+1 305-668-8788
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Red Fish Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 276 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Old Cutler
Description: Remember when Matt Dillon was eavesdropping on Cameron Diaz in the movie "There's Something About Mary"? They were at Red Fish Grill. And what a location! Whether dining outside under the Palms at the edge of Biscayne Bay or in the historic coral stone dining room, this restaurant is like nowhere else. It's a slice of Florida that disappeared long ago in most parts of Miami. But it's a lot more than atmosphere that brings in the locals and notables. The menu is dedicated to fresh local seafood, cooked with a gourmet twist, sometimes Caribbean... sometimes Asian. Best bets: Fennel Seared Yellowfin Tuna on Crispy Wonton, Crab Cakes with Tropical Melon Slaw, Red Snapper with Shaved Red Onion Fennel Salad, Herb Crusted Sea Bass with White Bean Ragout, homemade Key Lime Pie and Caramel Flan with Toasted Coconut. And a wine list that's reasonable and varied. Please visit our website for further details.
Miami, FL
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

We went for Miami Spice month when it's more affordable. The server was excellent. The food was very good. I had the cobia which was very good but the sides (rice and black beans puréed) were very ordinary. The key lime pie was delicious. The setting is beautiful and very romantic.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    38
    12
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“This place is hard to find and get to”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

It's in a park in Coral Gables, kind of far from downtown Miami but if you tell the guy at the gate that you're going to the restaurant, they won't charge you the $5.00 park entrance fee. The food was okay and pretty expensive but the view from the terrace was pretty good.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Beach view on Palm covered terrace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

When we have the good fortune of visiting Miami Beach, we are always in quest of the elusive terrace view restaurant where one can have good (or fried) seafood and enjoy the romance of moody lighting and a sea breeze. A few of the luxury hotels along Collins Ave have such views but most of their terrace restaurants are set way back from the beach and are separated by the public promenade, their own fence, and a seagrape hedge. Its impossible to see the beach or ocean.

On our recent trip we discovered Red Fish Grill in Coral Gables (about 50 mins south of Miami Beach in heavy traffic.) At the end of a narrow point, which they tend to call "hammocks" in those parts, one finds a public beach, wind-surfer's cove, a pretty marina...and The Red Fish Grill. This name and location would connote a casual seafood joint serving up grilled catch and french fries to sunburned visitors of all ages with sandy feet in and out of flipflops.

Housed in a historic coral building that has never been updated with public restrooms, it sits behind a hedge but with direct water views and views of an idyllic spot called "Pool Beach." Pool Beach is a natural dip in the sand where ocean water pools and creates a positively dreamy beach for toddlers. Since it was dusk by the time of our reservation there wasn't much noise from the beach but I can imagine that at an earlier hour or on a weekend, you might hear lots of kiddie clatter.

The dining room is rather modern and decorated in cream and orange. Its very pretty and glows beautifully in the evening. However, I found it to be over-air-conditioned and the view, although present through big windows, felt very removed.

The crowd was a very dolled-up older set. All the women tottered around on heels that could have easily buckled in a crack in the terrace or lost their grip on an errant puddle of rain water. Mini dresses and aging tanned knees, toting heavy handbags that were larger than their derrieres. The men worked Blackberries or caressed an adored and freckled shoulder, wearing summer slacks, or stylish shorts and driving loafers. They had a "continental" feel.

Pick an evening when the tropical storm clouds won't rumble in and dine al fresco, on their large terrace. Numerous mature palms grow around and through the terrace and are spiraled in glowing ropes of lights. During the daylight they do look a bit tortured but at night, they are radiant.

The seafood was excellent. I had salmon and my husband had seabass. Their presentation and recipes were inventive but not avant-guard. All the flavors were delicious and married well. And they seemed to not overdue butter, salt nor cream. My only criticism with the food was the shrimp cocktail is accompanied by a cucumber sauce, served as a swipe on the plate. The $13 price tag covers 3 medium cooked shrimp and a swipe of sauce. However, the sauce is very mild and adds nothing to the shrimp and isn't enough to actually bring some flavor to the shrimp. We asked for a more traditional sauce and the chef obliged by making a homemade cocktail sauce which was zesty and perfect and served in a dip-capable bowl.

Our server was barely of legal age, sweet and dutiful. However, he didn't know what a Kir Royal was when I ordered it before appetizers and so I recanted the request because if they don't know what one is, they can't make a proper one. I didn't find the wine options by the glass to be very interesting but they had a fairly extensive list by the bottle.

Its definitely worth booking a table at this fine eatery if excellent fish and and a lovely view is your goal.

(Oh and if you need the loo, just a short walk behind the building, there is a public one available next to the public out-door showers, with a wet and sandy floor, and the most basic of accommodations.)

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, CT
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Inconsistent Service Dampens Anniversary Dinner”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

My wife and I were on vacation and decided to eat here for our 2 year anniversary. First, the good news . . . the view of Biscayne Bay is beautiful and the lighted trees at night make for a romantic setting. Secondly, when we first arrived we were promptly greeted and wished a happy anniversary. We then sat down and were given time to enjoy the setting before ordering our wine and appetizers. Not once did we feel rushed or made to feel disrespected. Once we ordered the entrees then dinner took an unpleasant turn for the worse. First, three times they brought the wrong meal to the table. How can you bring the wrong type of fish when there's only five or so fish entrees on the menu? Also, why did the server not realize the mistake until he was putting it down on the table? We will say both entrees were presented nicely and plentiful; when they were finally correct. After our entrees we were quickly served coffee, dessert, and the bill. What happened to not being rushed? What happened to the nice server from the beginning of the meal? One other concern was that a table to our right started smoking and according to the manager it's allowed. Really? I thought smoking at restaraunts was banned? As we left, the manager apologized and offered a free meal and such if we were to return but we explained we were on vacation and wouldn't e returning. For the amount of money being spent here, the service needs improvement and smoking should not be allowed especially in such a natural surrounding.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful and relaxing place by the water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

This is a beautiful and quiet place to enjoy a meal by the water. The fresh fish entrees were deliciously prepared. Although the menu choices were not abundant, what we ate was incredible. The outdoor seating was great and we had a perfect view of the sunset.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Fish Grill also viewed

 
Coral Gables, FL
Coral Gables, FL
 

Been to Red Fish Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Fish Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.