We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must for the fan of French food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palme d’Or

Palme d’Or
1200 Anastasia Ave, Coral Gables, FL 33134-6339
305-913-3200
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Palme d’Or is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 287 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $105 - $175
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Granada
Description: The Biltmore’s chic, signature restaurant presents one of the finest dining experiences in America. Highly personal cuisine combining impeccable worldly artisanal products and modern French techniques. Patrons can custom-design their own dining experience around the 20-plus offered “tasting” plates and award winning wine list.
Miami, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A must for the fan of French food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

The top of the art of cooking you will amaze , surprise and overwhelm by such artisterie in cooking food for the one who thought French cooking as no more surprise to offert,

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    19
    8
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston MA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

First let me say I am not a huge fan of French food so that reflects in my 4 star review.


The restaurant, service and ambiance was top notch, A+, 100% great. Price was high. My husband and I tried the price fix 5 course sampler for $120?-- cant quite remember. Food was good, although portions were small as you might expect from a sampler menu. Presentation was beautiful, the wine was delish, and service could not have been better. The chef even brought us extra small items to sample when he heard we had never dined in a French place before.

Those who like French food will most likely be very happy. Beautiful atmosphere for a special occasion.


Overall a nice experience, but I will probably not be back because the food is simply not my style .

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenos aires
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This restaurant exhales perfection, from the ambiance to the service, the food was absolutely pefectly well served and cooked. We parked on the adjacent lot and walked thru the pool to enter the hotel. The restaurant is very classic, old fashioned style, very charming and chic. There were people of all ages, most couples or business groups.
My only complaint is related to the chairs, there are really uncomfortable, they are huge and wide and do not support your back, that feeling was very uncomfortable and made us want to go inmediately after our excelent dinner. We chose the Miami Spice menu, every dish was amazing, for us it was our best experience of the Miami Spice and a night to remember. Congrats to the chef and their staff.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Terrific food and patient service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I visited for lunch though the dinner menu is much more expansive. Terrific mixed green salad and perfectly cooked salmon. You can sit outdoors (they have portable a/c fans) or, as i chose, indoors in the a/c. The indoors has little ambience but is popular and spread out for private conversations.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent French Restaurant in So. Florida”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We recently had dinner at La Palme D'Or at the Biltmore Hotel in Coral Gables. They have a new Chief that offered us an exquisite selection of different appetizers and entrees. The wine selection was excellent as well and the service just outstanding.
As one of our friends, visiting from Spain, told us, this was the best dinner that they had during their three weeks vacation in Miami.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palme d’Or also viewed

 
Coral Gables, FL
Coral Gables, FL
 

Been to Palme d’Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palme d’Or, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.