We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palme d’Or

Palme d’Or
1200 Anastasia Ave, Coral Gables, FL 33134-6339
305-913-3200
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Palme d’Or is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 266 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $105 - $175
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Granada
Description: The Biltmore’s chic, signature restaurant presents one of the finest dining experiences in America. Highly personal cuisine combining impeccable worldly artisanal products and modern French techniques. Patrons can custom-design their own dining experience around the 20-plus offered “tasting” plates and award winning wine list.
buenos aires
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This restaurant exhales perfection, from the ambiance to the service, the food was absolutely pefectly well served and cooked. We parked on the adjacent lot and walked thru the pool to enter the hotel. The restaurant is very classic, old fashioned style, very charming and chic. There were people of all ages, most couples or business groups.
My only complaint is related to the chairs, there are really uncomfortable, they are huge and wide and do not support your back, that feeling was very uncomfortable and made us want to go inmediately after our excelent dinner. We chose the Miami Spice menu, every dish was amazing, for us it was our best experience of the Miami Spice and a night to remember. Congrats to the chef and their staff.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    20
    8
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Terrific food and patient service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I visited for lunch though the dinner menu is much more expansive. Terrific mixed green salad and perfectly cooked salmon. You can sit outdoors (they have portable a/c fans) or, as i chose, indoors in the a/c. The indoors has little ambience but is popular and spread out for private conversations.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent French Restaurant in So. Florida”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We recently had dinner at La Palme D'Or at the Biltmore Hotel in Coral Gables. They have a new Chief that offered us an exquisite selection of different appetizers and entrees. The wine selection was excellent as well and the service just outstanding.
As one of our friends, visiting from Spain, told us, this was the best dinner that they had during their three weeks vacation in Miami.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
338 reviews 338 reviews
304 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Oh, la la!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

The only regret is that we hadn't been to Palm D'Or in too long! We were genuinely concerned when Chef Philippe left, but somehow Chef Pugin stepped things up. He's a 2-Star, by the way! Service was crisp & friendly. The setting remarkable. And the cuisine ... magnificent!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aventura, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“From Bellagio, LV to Coral Gables, FL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Aug 13- Miami Spice. Palm D'Or was the most AMAZING dining experience in Miami, FL. It was perfection. The entire meal was like dining at Le Cirque in NY or LV. Then to my surprise, the Chef Gregory Pugin was from LV. Decisons, decisions ..we shared the entire menu and can only say "FANTASTIQUE !!"
The Sept menu will change and we'll dine again at Palme D'or.
The attentiveness and friendly services was a plus. If you like fine dining and a foodie, this is THE place to dine and visit the Biltmore Hotel.
Thanks to all at Palme D'or. See you soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palme d’Or also viewed

 
Coral Gables, FL
Coral Gables, FL
 

Been to Palme d’Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palme d’Or, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.