We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome Chef Pugin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palme d’Or

Palme d’Or
1200 Anastasia Ave, Coral Gables, FL 33134-6339
305-913-3200
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Palme d’Or is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 271 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $105 - $175
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Granada
Description: The Biltmore’s chic, signature restaurant presents one of the finest dining experiences in America. Highly personal cuisine combining impeccable worldly artisanal products and modern French techniques. Patrons can custom-design their own dining experience around the 20-plus offered “tasting” plates and award winning wine list.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Welcome Chef Pugin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

In searching for a location to showcase the history of Miami and to showcase its epicurean sophistication, we decided to invite friends to the La Palme D'Or a restaurant that we have visited over the years. We were rewarded with a magnificent meal, unusual wine pairings and great service by a team that was happy to meet any request.

We took advantage of the five-course tasting menu and thus sampled multiple dishes. Each course showcased a thoughtful preparation, with intense flavors that were bound together by exquisite sauces. One could taste the chef's roots in Southwest France as well as experience the Robuchon touch in each course. The sommelier Cindy, proved to be a wonderful guide to our wine selections. It was a pleasure to experience such professional yet approachable service. My only recommendation is that the team slow down the service a bit, so that diners can fully enjoy the experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    23
    9
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A must try!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

My girlfriend and I had dinner at la Palme D'Or to celebrate last night and we loved it. We were curious to try their new Michelin award winning chef and were happy to select 5 very creative courses each with Grand Cru wine pairing, attentive staff, in a beautiful and romantic setting. It was a perfect night! We can't wait to return and were happy to see they are participating in Miami Spice, so it may be sooner rather than later.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
2 reviews
“Sadly Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We were very disappointed with our dinner at Palme d'Or. Service was indifferent, food came too quickly, and preparation failed to approach gourmet standards of excellence. While we greatly enjoyed the Biltmore Hotel, we would sadly not return to Palme d'Or.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

I've always been a big fan if the Palm d'Or and have eaten many times there over the years. Recently, they changed chefs who instilled a 5-course pre-fixe menu at over $100 pp. What if you don't want to eat 5 courses you ask? Then everything on the menu is also at a fixed $31. But don't be fooled... The size of dishes is still at the tasting size (2.5 oz or less). The food was delicious but not worth the price.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Michelin Chef - incredible dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I had the pleasure of dining here last week , they have a new Michelin star chef and the food was amazing. We were celebrating a special occasion and we could not have chosen a more romantic restaurant and attentive waiters. They were always there , although never felt like they were hovering at all, like with some upscale restaurants. Dinner was a five course gourmet adventure and each course was better than the previous , the Sommelier helped us choose some wonderful wines to accompany our meal. The foie gras with rhubarb was such a delight for the taste buds and my chocolate souffle a perfect end to a very delightful evening. We will definitely be going back !

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palme d’Or also viewed

 

Been to Palme d’Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palme d’Or, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.