We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Cuban Food in a comfortable ambiance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Havana Harry's

Havana Harry's
4612 S Le Jeune Rd, Coral Gables, FL 33146-1815
(305) 661-2622
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 270 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Caribbean, Argentinean, Cuban, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
123 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Typical Cuban Food in a comfortable ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I have dined here many times over the years. The food portions are huge and the quality is solid. The menu selection is typical of what you find in Cuban restaurants in Miami - including breaded chicken (pollo empanizado), breaded steak (bistec empanizado), ripe plantains and rice and beans. If you aren't a bit eater, you can easily share one plate between two.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    95
    21
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
miami
Level Contributor
94 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Very Good overall experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Pros:
Clean and simple environment.
Extensive menu.
Traditional and creative variations on Cuban food. The mango chicken was very good.
Extremely large portions that can easily be shared.
Well prepared.
The desserts were outstanding. Especially the Cocololita; a mix of coconut, flan and ice cream.
Very reasonably priced.
Cons:
Out of some dishes.
Unusually long serving times
Limited parking with no valet. Can be resolved by parking in municipal lot across the street.
Summary:
A very good alternative to the hectic Versailles atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Food, Spanish Only”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We ate here wanting to try some authentic Cuban food. The food was very good, but we were unsure if it was truly Cuban food or not. The menu is entirely in Spanish and the staff speaks minimal English. My husband and I are not bilingual, so the menu was a bit overwhelming for us, but we were able to decipher the meaning of some items on the menu. Friendly staff and clean restaurant.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Visited there on recommendation of hotel staff and was admittedly a bit skeptical and expected at best an ok dinner with my group of six.
The place was outstanding! Service efficient and waitress very helpful and accommodating! But it was the food! They should have told us to come on a completely empty stomach and a few doggy bags! I can still taste the food and just the sight of it was filling!
I would go back to this location just to eat at HH's again!
Excellent!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good Cuban Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

They have pretty good Cuban food and I would recommend it to anyone who likes Cuban food. You will not be disappointed.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Havana Harry's also viewed

 

Been to Havana Harry's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Havana Harry's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.