We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Prepared Cuban Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Havana Harry's

Havana Harry's
4612 S Le Jeune Rd, Coral Gables, FL 33146-1815
(305) 661-2622
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 273 restaurants in Coral Gables
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Argentinean, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Well Prepared Cuban Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This was my second time at Havana Harry's and I enjoyed the traditional Cuban entrees accompanied by plantains, rice and beans. The breaded steak was quite good. Service was prompt and businesslike. The ambiance is conducive to have a good conversation. There is also substantial value in dining at Havana Harry's.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    71
    53
    14
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jupiter, Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Quiet Lunch but bring a jacket!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

This is great place for a quiet lunch. We stopped there on a Friday and arrived at the opening. The waiter was excellent and the food arrived timely. The authentic Cuban food was very good. I had black beans and rice with grilled chicken. The chicken was a little dry but was moistened by the beans which were excellent. Our party of four was equally impressed with the service and the food. The only problem was the temperature of the dining area which was cold, cold, cold….I highly recommend but bring a jacket.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York and Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Brings out the Latino in everyone!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Although this is a place frequented by many members of Miami's Latino community, this establishment welcomes everybody, including Gringos like me and Lynne. The service is friendly, attentive and relaxed. The portions are very large and everything we had was delicious. The prices would be reasonable even if the portions were considerably smaller than they are.

We shared the traditional pulled beef with onions which was spicy, citrusy and irresistible. Our other shared dish was an unusually well-executed salad topped with blackened chicken. The dressing was wonderful and the chicken had the perfect level of flavor to accompany the greens. For dessert we shared the coconut bread pudding which was extraordinary: served warm, infused with coconut and milk with toasted coconut topping and, of course, in an enormous portion.

All I can say is that I haven't enjoyed overeating this much in a long time. Long Live Harry's!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“You will not leave hungry!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

My only problem with the restaurant is that they keep the AC too high and when you walk in you really feel the shock! Bring a sweeter/shawl
The portions are very adequate and enough for good eaters to share ( so you can have dessert)
The chicken vaca frita is excellent ( as well as the regular one). I had bistec empanizado, and it was very good, a bit thin but tasty.
Their " vacio steak" was very good , and the avocado salmon was very tasty.
The 4 milk dessert was enough for 4 people

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Hey, it's Miami. Theres a lot of competition for Cuban Cuisine in this town. The food is good, but nothing special.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Havana Harry's also viewed

 
Coral Gables, FL
 

Been to Havana Harry's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Havana Harry's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.