We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Lunch but bring a jacket!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Havana Harry's

Havana Harry's
4612 S Le Jeune Rd, Coral Gables, FL 33146-1815
(305) 661-2622
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 270 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Caribbean, Argentinean, Cuban, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Quiet Lunch but bring a jacket!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

This is great place for a quiet lunch. We stopped there on a Friday and arrived at the opening. The waiter was excellent and the food arrived timely. The authentic Cuban food was very good. I had black beans and rice with grilled chicken. The chicken was a little dry but was moistened by the beans which were excellent. Our party of four was equally impressed with the service and the food. The only problem was the temperature of the dining area which was cold, cold, cold….I highly recommend but bring a jacket.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    96
    21
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York and Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Brings out the Latino in everyone!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Although this is a place frequented by many members of Miami's Latino community, this establishment welcomes everybody, including Gringos like me and Lynne. The service is friendly, attentive and relaxed. The portions are very large and everything we had was delicious. The prices would be reasonable even if the portions were considerably smaller than they are.

We shared the traditional pulled beef with onions which was spicy, citrusy and irresistible. Our other shared dish was an unusually well-executed salad topped with blackened chicken. The dressing was wonderful and the chicken had the perfect level of flavor to accompany the greens. For dessert we shared the coconut bread pudding which was extraordinary: served warm, infused with coconut and milk with toasted coconut topping and, of course, in an enormous portion.

All I can say is that I haven't enjoyed overeating this much in a long time. Long Live Harry's!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“You will not leave hungry!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

My only problem with the restaurant is that they keep the AC too high and when you walk in you really feel the shock! Bring a sweeter/shawl
The portions are very adequate and enough for good eaters to share ( so you can have dessert)
The chicken vaca frita is excellent ( as well as the regular one). I had bistec empanizado, and it was very good, a bit thin but tasty.
Their " vacio steak" was very good , and the avocado salmon was very tasty.
The 4 milk dessert was enough for 4 people

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Hey, it's Miami. Theres a lot of competition for Cuban Cuisine in this town. The food is good, but nothing special.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful spot. Come VERY hungry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

4.5/5. I went once with my boss for lunch and then went back with my family for dinner on that same day.
The service was attentive and courteous. The food was very good - everything we had tasted great. Now the amount of food was absolutely ridiculous - and when the food is good I pig out, but at Havana Harry's I just couldn't handle the quantity. Basically all the portions are double.
Mojitos: the best I've had so far. Quatro Leches: of wow. I'd drive 1100 miles for that.
I look forward to going back!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Havana Harry's also viewed

 
Coral Gables, FL
 

Been to Havana Harry's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Havana Harry's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.