We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Francesco

Francesco
325 Alcazar Avenue, Coral Gables, FL 33134
305-446-1600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 275 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Price range: $30 - $60
Cuisines: Peruvian
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Miami
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Delicious dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Food was delicious. Grilled octopus was delicious. Corvina ceviche was also delicious. Suspiro desert was fabulous. We ordered a wine that was on the list but they did not have available. Wine recommendation by our waiter was wonderful. We will be going back soon. Ambiance was also wonderful.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    23
    3
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
newyork
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Simply marvelous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This restaurant has it all - great Peruvian food (with an orientation toward seafood, including several different versions of ceviche that are all fabulous), excellent service, and an intimate ambiance. We went there twice from MIA airport when we were en route to and from Cuba last month. The only difficulty is that cab drivers can't find it without a little guidance. Tell them to head south on LeJeune Road, go past SW 8th Street, and turn left by the Burger King on the left. They can't take a left on Alcazar, but they can at the light by the Burger King. Then they need to take the next left to go one block to Alcazar, and turn left again. The restaurant will be on the right; look for the awning with red lights. Highly recommended!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“LUNCH AT FRANCESCO”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We returned to Francesco for taking a lunch in which we order Ceviche Mixed, Causa Peruana and Lomo Saltado, accompanied by the house wine. For dessert we ordered Suspiro Limeño. We had to call attention to missing silverware; except for this, everything was satisfaction. The quality of the food is excellent. It is always very rewarding to return to this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic - Worthy of Michelin Stars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We always save up prior to visiting Miami - simply for the privilege of "splurging" on a dinner at Francesco's with our family. It's not inexpensive, but the quality of food and dining experience you receive for the price is absolutely worth it.

The service has always been wonderful - Francesco has been in house the times we've dined there, and always stopped by to check in and make sure each diner was taken care of. The atmosphere is great - occasionally, we have dined while they had live music (I believe it was a cellist the last time... very nice) and we enjoyed the additional perk for our dinner experience.

Our favorite way to enjoy our visit is to order several different ceviches for appetizers, and to go with the cilantro rice and octopus, as well as the squid ink rice and other chef specials (Tacu Tacu, lomo saltado, and many others...). There are no dishes on the menu that fail to please the palate, and we always walk away well-fed, happy, and pleased with our experience!

Believe what you have read about this place - it is a quality establishment that excels at it's goal; to provide you with an excellent, authentic Peruvian dining experience.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponce, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Real Peruvian Food. A seafood festival”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

If you don't have an idea about Preruvian food, this is a place to start. Excellent peruvian food fit for everyone. If you like fish and seafood you must go. Cilantro soup is a most. Always ask for the specisl of the day. Any dish with passion fruit sause is excellent. Wine list isn't big, but have good variaty with good price

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Francesco also viewed

Key Biscayne, FL
Coral Gables, FL
 

Been to Francesco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Francesco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.