We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Thai food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bangkok Bangkok II

Bangkok Bangkok II
157 Giralda Ave, Coral Gables, FL 33134-5208
(305) 444-2397
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #115 of 287 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Thai, Vegetarian, Vietnamese
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Average Thai food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Service was good, but the place is too dark. Even sober I felt it. Drunk was even worse. The food is OK, but the folks here are friendly. Valet parked the car and it was a mission to get. Off street parking available I suggest if you are in a hurry.

I have the Volcano Shrimp with rice. I thought they where average at best. YES VERY HOT, but nothing to go back for.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    14
    11
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good but dark...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

The food is good and kendall location is just as good, but the place is a bit dark. If you like traditional Thai, try it.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Pad thai bliss!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

I am a pad thai fan and I really enjoyed the one prepared here. I ordered the smsll portion and it was still toooo big to actually enjoy the panang that I ordered as a main dish (also very good). My only complain is the charge for the valet because they do not give you any other parking alternative.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manalapan, New Jersey
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Good eats for a good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Red cury chicken dish was enjoyed by the group. I also liked my pad Thai. Good service. Good food.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice thai place!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Since my fave thai place closed up a few months ago, I'd been missing having thai food and finally decided to look around for a new one. Finally decided to try this place out and had a pleasant experience both times. So far I have tried the red curry and the pad thai lunch specials for $10 and they were good although they seem to hold back on the spiciness of the food. I was the first person in both times and the place was empty but about halfway through my meal, the place filled up fast which is a good sign. Lots of other places nearby including a vietnamese place if its full and you can't wait.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bangkok Bangkok II also viewed

 
Coral Gables, FL
Coral Gables, FL
 

Been to Bangkok Bangkok II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bangkok Bangkok II, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.