We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was very good but service a bit off” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caffe Abbracci

Caffe Abbracci
318 Aragon Ave, Coral Gables, FL 33134
(305) 441-0700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Caffe Abbracci is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 275 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Aragon Avenue Between 42nd (LeJeune Rd) and Salzedo St.
Transit: LeJeune & Aragon Avenue
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Food was very good but service a bit off”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This was restaurant was chosen by my friends who live in the area. It was a good choice with a friendly greeting and friendly wait staff. We split two dinners between the three of us and it was sufficient. The veal parmesan and linguine with white clam sauce were both very tasty and prepared nicely. Service was a bit sporadic with the food coming to the table and our bottle of wine still not brought to the table. This oversight was corrected with a free desert. Overall a good experience and would recommend.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    44
    20
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coral Gables, Florida
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice Lunch time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My wife, knowing my love of pasta, suggested this restaurant to taste it. The experience was very pleasant. Excellent food, good
wine and very good service and excellent atmosphere. I recommend it without reservation.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Very nice place, great service. Price reasonable.

A good choice while visiting Miami.

Visit by locals!!!!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Average food, Not Great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We looked forward to dining at Abbracci and having read and heard so many great reviews we were both a little underwhelmed by the experience. The starters were pretty good, we had beef carpaccio which came with Parmesan and capers ( very good ) and the Prosciutto Di Parma with mozzarella and balsamic reduction (ok, but a good Parma ham speaks for itself and pairing it with a tangy balsamic and a creamy cheese kind of kills the subtlety of the Parma ham flavours - individually these two things are wonderful so maybe I'm just being a snob !)

For the main course we both chose the lobster ravioli (which we'd read such god things about) this was made using squid ink pasta and presented with a cream and cognac sauce - looked great and was piping hot but a bit too rich and sweet and not really revealing the lobster flavour that it promised which was a shame. Not bad but certainly not good enough to writer home about, just a bit disappointing.

The biggest gripe of all however, was the ambience and service. Our reservation was for 8:30 on a Weds evening, the main restaurant area was busy so we were seated in a windowless room on the side (lacking the buzz and character of the main restaurant room) scattered diners sitting in opposite corners and a the rest of the room full of undressed, empty tables and a carpet that needed a good vacuum!? - all in all a bit gloomy and atmosphere-less. To make matters a lot worse the service was pushy and too eager to get us in and out as quickly as possible. Hardly had we sat down when the waiter wanted our order and kept coming back to ask minutes later - annoying and not what a relaxed romantic evening should be about - mains turned up almost as soon as the starters were cleared and we were in and out having had a two course meal in about 50minutes

I don't understand why it is that so many reviewers here have given this place such astounding praise ? Maybe they've never had good Italian food and good service ? Or maybe our visit was just jinxed last night. Can't recommend this place and certainly won't be coming back

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Flawless”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Had dinner here Saturday night. I had been here for lunch years and years ago, and our dinner exceeded our expectations.

Service was perfect, yet not overbearing. Food, out of this world. I had a steak and my wife had the sea bass special. Her mussels as an appetizer were amazing.

I would highly recommned Caffe Abbracci. Thank you for a great evening.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Abbracci also viewed

 
Coral Gables, FL
 

Been to Caffe Abbracci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caffe Abbracci, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.