We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stellar dining experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Romeo's Cafe

Romeo's Cafe
2257 Coral Way (SW 22nd Street), Coral Gables, FL 33145-3508
(305) 859-2228
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Romeo's Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #32 of 280 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Price range: $40 - $100
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: SW 22nd Avenue
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Stellar dining experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

What a find this place is! The hidden gem is located in a block full of businesses like a barber shop and dry cleaners. Don't let the location fool you. This place is special. Outside there is a small front porch area with bench seating decorated with vine trees. As you enter you find yourself in a small, dimly lit dining room. There's soft music playing and the walls are decorated with dark wood, lovely paintings, and wine bottles.

We arrived for an anniversary dinner and were immediately taken to a candle lit table. Our drink orders were taken (extensive wine list) and within minutes Chef Romeo was at our table! Along with warm greetings he gathered information about food dislikes, allergies, etc. as he explained that there was no set menu for our 6 course northern Italian influenced meal. Let the food adventure begin! Our meals were really very delicious and included - fruit/cheese salad with balsamic reduction, delicately sliced lemon/caper fish appetizer, rabbit fettuccine, baked fish, grilled beef tenderloin, apple strudel, and pecan pie.

This is really a great dining experience and a very nice place for a romantic dinner. I will most definitely visit again for special occasions.

Romeo's also has a private dining room for parties or large groups.

Be sure to make reservations!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    15
    4
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Exquisite Miami Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

My fiancée and I went there last night to celebrate her birthday and it was outstanding. This is one of the best restaurants we have been to both in the United States and overseas. Romeo, the owner and chef greets you personally within minutes of arrival. He asks you a few questions and then proceeds to create your entire 6 course meal from scratch. There is no menu and it is Romeo himself who makes this experience stellar. Every patron has an entirely different meal. The food is five stars and top quality. Romeo is constantly checking on you throughout the meal. This is the perfect establishment for special occasions and even though it is top dollar, you absolutely get your money's worth! We will definitely be back!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“50th Birthday Celebration”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

My brother had wanted to try this restaurant for many years. In our family, we travel to a destination to eat for each milestone birthday and chose this location for his 50th. Romeo is very personable and asks what each diner likes or doesn't like, then crafts the meal around those facts.

The six course meal was absolutely delightful from start to finish! Our favorites were the salmon carpaccio for the first course and the duck course was outstanding.

All in all, we loved this restaurant and would recommend it from a family of foodies.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Romantic night out or just a great dinner with friends!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

This little restaurant on the fringes of Coral Gables is a wonderful treasure in the Miami culinary landscape. In a small space with warm lighting and an intimate atmosphere chef Romeo Majano will spoil your taste buds and make you want to come back soon. He visits every table to find out what his guests won't eat and then he will go back to his kitchen to create a 4 or 6 course meal (your choice) with a surprising variety of ingredients, textures, scents and flavors.

It's a dinner symphony of foods. A nice and reasonably priced wine list adds to the enjoyable offerings, and we allways have the chocolate souffle for desert - but then you can ask Romeo for other recommendations. You'll love the entire experience!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Impressive service and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

This is a small gem and probably the kind of restaurant most chefs wish they could afford to operate. The cuisine is Northern Italian which rules out the kind of trendy fusion cuisine some here seemed to be seeking. Romeo's is about the total dining experience. That said our six courses were well-done and the portions precisely measured to leave you satisfied. At the end of the meal, my two teenage boys were neither over- nor under-fed.

It starts with the owner/chef greeting you on arrival. Most places try to have a manager circulate to the tables once or twice during a given visit. Here you get the attention of the chef and owner several times during the meal. He is not just asking a perfunctory 'Is everything OK?' He initially asks about your preferences and then tailors that evening's prix fixe course to accommodate what you told him earlier. He then comes back to ask if he did it well. This means he remembers you and what you told him. Remarkable!

This level a service carries over the rest of the staff. During our visit they were both attentive and unobtrusive - which is my gold standard. I didn't spend a lot of time with the wine list but it appeared to exist less as a major profit center and more as something to compliment the meals. Ahem... the prices were reasonable.

I was little apprehensive after reading some of the reviews here but they evaporated quickly. Some people have complained that the food was ordinary. I would answer that it was ordinary food prepared and served extraordinarily well. There is a difference.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Romeo's Cafe also viewed

 
Coral Gables, FL
Coral Gables, FL
 

Been to Romeo's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Romeo's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.