We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was great, service so so” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ruth's Chris Steak House

Ruth's Chris Steak House
2320 Salzedo St Ste 20, Coral Gables, FL 33134-5019
305-461-8360
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ruth's Chris Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #46 of 270 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Aragon
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
61 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Food was great, service so so”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Went to this restaurant taking advantage of the Coral Gables Restaurant Week. The food was amazing, however the service was kind of slow. We were sitting there for more than 15 minutes before the waiter actually came by. Other than that the food was good, kind of expensive even with the Coral Gables Week deal, but totally worth it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    37
    20
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not Up to Par”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Wife, daughter, and I ordered the filet. The steak was properly cooked, but it was tasteless. The quality of the meat was not the quality I have experienced here in the past. The spinach and potato au gratin was just average. For desert we had the bread pudding, that was very good. There are better steakhouse choices.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“SHOULD HAVE READ THE REVIEWS FIRST”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Not only was the food awful, the waiter made fun of me!!! Little did Rueben realize, but I was paying the bill and his tip.....A BIG FAT ZERO.....reflected my disgust. The steak tasted off at first bit and flavorless throughout the rest. Save your hard-earned cash....this is just another VERY OVERRATED STEAK JOINT THAT CHARGES WAY, WAY, WAY TOO MUCH!!! I would have enjoyed a Nathan's hot dog more than my $50 steak!!!! What the hell was I thinking!!!

OHHHHHH and the valet parking is $8 plus a tip!!! NEVER AGAIN!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
78 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“You have to try the blueberry mojitos!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

A great place to sit in the bar, enjoy lobster and seared tuna appetizers and a great steak. Ours was cooked to perfection and served sizzling on the plates. The atmosphere is comfortable, quiet and friendly. Their blueberry mojitos are to die for! ENJOY!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
120 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Used to be a great place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Have been coming here the past 6 years. Used to be great but now only average. My companions crab cake entree was fishy and full of crab shells. My medium rare filet mignon was completely raw inside but even worse was not a great cut of meat. It was not a fresh piece of meat. Very disappointing for a place the prides itself on great meat. I can only assume they have changed chefs and lost the previous great one to be replaced by an average mediocre chef.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruth's Chris Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Ruth's Chris Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruth's Chris Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.