We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECTION!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ortanique on the Mile

Ortanique on the Mile
278 Miracle Mile, Coral Gables, FL 33134-5908
305-446-7710
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ortanique on the Mile is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 280 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Salzedo & Miracle Mile (Coral Way)
MIAMI BEACH
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“PERFECTION!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

i don't write a lot of reviews unless i have something remarkable to say.
i am owner of a restaurant myself so i know what i am talking about.
From ambiance, to food to service, everything is the closest to a perfect experience i had in a long time.
The only down side is that unfortunately we had to catch a show on the theater next door so our time there was limited, or i could have have spend hours there keep trying their dishes.
Thank you so much for a wonderful experience...and our waitress, the dominican girl,she is pure bliss to be around!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    46
    18
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Superb food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Dinner with business group--nice variety. Service was excellent, atmosphere great. Food...the fish is marvelous. The Bouillabaise is amazing but spicey, the tuna was ...perfect. Simply, tough to go wrong here--enjoy.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Always Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

While asked if my New Years Eve meal was one of the best ever in a restaurant, I say no...the grouper was great, the brie salad terrific, but not the best. However, I have had one of my best meals was at Ortanique in the past - namely, the Bouillabaisse, which is out of this world. The fish is always top and the meat excellent -- the sides delicious and inventive. What makes the place is the flavor of the islands so exquisitely blended into the food and the outstanding staff and management. Wine list ain't bad either!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ortanique (Cuisine of the Sun) Coral Gables”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Outstanding - classic fresh food in a romantic restaurant. Awarded Chef Cindy Hutson is renowned ... try her signature drink with fresh basil! Cindy's Garden!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“flavorful Caribbean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Another great dining experience on the mile! This was my 3rd time dining in and as before they did not disappoint. I brought along 4 of my collegues and they were also equally impressed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ortanique on the Mile also viewed

 

Been to Ortanique on the Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ortanique on the Mile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.