We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious and Impressive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ortanique on the Mile

Ortanique on the Mile
278 Miracle Mile, Coral Gables, FL 33134-5908
305-446-7710
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ortanique on the Mile is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 274 restaurants in Coral Gables
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Salzedo & Miracle Mile (Coral Way)
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Delicious and Impressive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I have been to Ortanique twice and it is one of my favorite restaurants in South Florida. Both times the service was good and the food was excellent. Highly recommended!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    115
    42
    18
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in South Florida”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Ok, we haven't been to all of them. But we've gone out to dinner at restaurants from Palm Beach to Key West almost every night for two months and this is our favorite restaurant. I had the fois gras - some of the best ever. My husband loved his pork. The wines by the glass were a good selection fairly priced. The restaurant has a great ambiance. A real winner b

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Coral Gables treasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Ortanique is always consistent. Oysters Rockefeller, Duck and Tres Leches - fantastic. Great place to go for special occasion.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very good food and ambience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We were 10 people that night and we had a great experience at Ortanique at Miracle mile.
I recomend the spicy fried calamari salad as appetizer or the baked brie salad , the west indian style Bouillabaiss as entree .
The service is very good , price a little expensive but worthy for the very good food .

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Service, and Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Was here last year but did not review them. Made reservations for this trip and was not disappointed. The staff are very friendly and not pushy. We had drinks at the bar before going to the table, which was fine even if it pushed us 15 minutes later than reserved. The hostess actually came and got us. The food was excellent, served hot, and seasoned perfectly. This is not a restaurant where you want food delivered immediately after you finish a course. There is a 5-10 minute rest period between courses. Wait staff is excellent. We had Gilbert who was very informative and provided impectable service. I recommend you use the valet service that is a few feet from the restaurant. It costs $8 but worth having the hassel with the parking meters..if you can find an open parking slot. Will definitely return here again. Portions are adequate but ask about seasoning on the food. My associated ordered "caribbean" style tuna only to find it was spicy. I had the scallops and they were properly cooked to perfection.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ortanique on the Mile also viewed

Coral Gables, FL
Coral Gables, FL
 

Been to Ortanique on the Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ortanique on the Mile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.