We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food and ambience.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ortanique on the Mile

Ortanique on the Mile
278 Miracle Mile, Coral Gables, FL 33134-5908
305-446-7710
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ortanique on the Mile is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 274 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Salzedo & Miracle Mile (Coral Way)
miami
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very good food and ambience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We were 10 people that night and we had a great experience at Ortanique at Miracle mile.
I recomend the spicy fried calamari salad as appetizer or the baked brie salad , the west indian style Bouillabaiss as entree .
The service is very good , price a little expensive but worthy for the very good food .

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    43
    18
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Service, and Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Was here last year but did not review them. Made reservations for this trip and was not disappointed. The staff are very friendly and not pushy. We had drinks at the bar before going to the table, which was fine even if it pushed us 15 minutes later than reserved. The hostess actually came and got us. The food was excellent, served hot, and seasoned perfectly. This is not a restaurant where you want food delivered immediately after you finish a course. There is a 5-10 minute rest period between courses. Wait staff is excellent. We had Gilbert who was very informative and provided impectable service. I recommend you use the valet service that is a few feet from the restaurant. It costs $8 but worth having the hassel with the parking meters..if you can find an open parking slot. Will definitely return here again. Portions are adequate but ask about seasoning on the food. My associated ordered "caribbean" style tuna only to find it was spicy. I had the scallops and they were properly cooked to perfection.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Over rated and expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Over rated and expensive

Let me start with the positives. The restaurant offers great ambience and service. This was a business dinner and everyone in my group thought that the restaurant was over rated and expensive.

Average entrees range from $28 to $40, which is okay for an upscale restaurant. However the entrée portions were very small and almost small tapas sized…..served on a large plate. The steak we got was about 5oz and Ahi tuna main course came with 2 small bits of tuna. The food was good but none of my colleagues were overly impressed.

Go with minimal expectations and you’d be okay!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Actually six stars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This restaurant hit the mark on every level. We were about fifteen minutes late due to traffic and parking issues....we we arrived a little flustered and apologetic, the hostess set us at ease with a warm smile, reassurance that it was not a problem, and then a private table for two. We had a wonderful Foie gras appetizer; and followed it by Ahi tuna and seared scallops. I have now been in Florida for ten days and this was by far the best quality and preparation that we've had. The waitstaff was attentive and very friendly. We were well taken care of....water and wine glasses refilled, plates and silverware removed and replaced promptly....everything that should be but many times are not throughout the dinner. Although there were numerous appealing and creative choices for dessert, we chose Tres Leches .....something we would never find in New England. As we were leaving, the hostess asked about our dining experience and apologized that she hadn't been able stop by to check sooner. We usually rate our meals by the end of the vacation...Ortanique started as first and has remained there ....my only regret, I would have to travel over three hours to return!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Bay, St. John
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The restaurant had a great feel and very good food.The service was attentive and the atmosphere was lovely. A place I would try again.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ortanique on the Mile also viewed

 

Been to Ortanique on the Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ortanique on the Mile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.