We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Fish Tacos I've Ever Had” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ortanique on the Mile

Ortanique on the Mile
278 Miracle Mile, Coral Gables, FL 33134-5908
305-446-7710
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ortanique on the Mile is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 274 restaurants in Coral Gables
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Salzedo & Miracle Mile (Coral Way)
florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Fish Tacos I've Ever Had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Wow. I decided to try the Crunchy Sweetbread Fish Tacos, it sounded interesting. The waitress told me the Chef swore by the Sweetbread (which is a very popular fruit in Jamaica) and so I went with it. Chef is RIGHT! The best fish tacos I have ever had and I can't wait to go back and have them again. The cilantro sauce, the freshness of the fish and the other super star...the crunchy sweetbread shell. If you like fish and you like tacos you won't go wrong with this one!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    115
    42
    18
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Coast, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good, but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Met members of my family to celebrate my birthday and had heard good things about Ortanique. The service was excellent, but the good was a little disappointing. Maybe, I expected too much ahead of time as it was good, but not great.

Interesting interiors.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Marvel of miracle mile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Great place for food and conversation. Waiters and staff are extremely attentive. Food is superb with a Caribean accent. Restaurant atmosphere is casual and fun yet muted enough for good conversation with friends. Spice of Miami special is 1 appetizer, 1 entree, & 1 dessert for $39. The peach & Bleu cheese green salad, swordfish, vegetable curry & tres leches cake were terrific! Excellent wine by the glass. Valet park $8 - look for the colorful flamingo!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm City, Fla
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“A great restaurant close to the airport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We visited this place due to the menu and the fact that it was close to the airport. It had a great selection of seafood, a reasonably priced wine list and an excellent bar. All of life's necessities!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIAMI, FL
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Lovely Host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I loved Ortanique!
I had an amazing meal with my girlfriend, love pork chops, and the conomut milk boulabaisse, just delicious.
Do not forget to try Joel`s mojitos! Best in town
Thanks Georgina for being such an amazing !!
Andres

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ortanique on the Mile also viewed

Coral Gables, FL
Coral Gables, FL
 
Coral Gables, FL

Been to Ortanique on the Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ortanique on the Mile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.