We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bricktop's

Bricktop's
2418 Ponce de Leon Blvd, Coral Gables, FL 33134
305-443-9992
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #83 of 284 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Coral Gables, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This restaurant looks like any number of chains in Coral Gables. We went there yesterday for Sunday Brunch just to try it. We were pleasantly surprised. First, the service was very attentive and friendly. The food was OK overall but there were two things I especially liked. The housemade doughnuts are light as air and served with three delicious sauces. My husband particularly liked the pecan waffles. We look forward to trying this place again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    30
    11
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food, diffident service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The crab cakes, salmon and baby back ribs were delicious. The steak was raw.

Unfortunately, the service at the restaurant was poor. As soon as the waiter took the order,
he disappeared. It was delivered by someone else and as the steak was raw (not ordered raw and inedible to my guest). We eventually had to request a manager as the waiter disappeared. Still a delay in getting the manager. The restaurant was not full, maybe 60%. Wine charges were questionable.

To make up for the poor service and the raw steak, one of the managers offered free desserts. Yes, you've got it. We were charged for the desserts. The waiter didn't believe that the manager offered free dessert so this was another trying part of the dinner.

The young, condescending "manager" acknowledged offering free dessert but brushed off the fact that we were charged for them. DESSERTS COST NOTHING/ WHAT ABOUT THE SERVICE?

Even as we were trying to get service, much less the bill, a table of four was complaining about their service.

I can give you the name of our waiter, the fresh manager and the waiter of the other table (not related to us). I really hated the service and attitude.

Here is a tip for Brick Top: Concentrate on your food; concentrate on training and monitoring friendly, professional service.

What what supposed to be a celebratory dinner was unsatisfying and annoying. Brick Top's cheap desserts are nothing compared to ruining a special evening with unprofessional, diffident service. Good luck to you.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“LOVE THE CRABCAKES”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Relatively new, this is a good addition to the Coral Gables restaurant scene. It's spacious with comfortable seating and a well trained staff.

We started with prickly pear margaritas and a flatbread appetizer, both very good. There were four of us. Each one of us had something different, and every dish was excellent. My crab cakes were wonderful- big, juicy bits of fresh crab. Hardly any filler at all.

We all agreed that we'll definitely be back, and soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great new restaurant in coral gables. Better than hillstone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Excellent experience. The menu is American with good variety. The devil eggs w sugar bacon was a nice surprise appetizer. Very sweet and savory. The steaks were cooked perfectly. The grilled grouper portion was huge. Crab meat on top was over the top.

Service was surprisingly great. very in-Miami-like.

The bar was large.

Atmosphere is very comfortable. The outdoor seating will be very nice when it cools down.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Better than hillstones”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

My new favorite salad. Quieter than hillstones with no chaos.
Nice service and diverse but not overwhelming menu. A bit more expensive than need be.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bricktop's also viewed

 

Been to Bricktop's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bricktop's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.