We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated and over priced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Dorada

La Dorada
177 Giralda Ave, Coral Gables, FL 33134
+1 305-446-2002
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #80 of 276 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Price range: $16 - $45
Cuisines: Seafood, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: La Dorada Coral Gbales is the First & Only Spanish Restaurant in USA to Receive "The International Five Star Diamond Award & "The Five Green Star Award" from The American Academy of Hospitality Sciences.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Overrated and over priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Three of us visited La Dorada last weekend for dinner, and although the service was terrific the food was overrated and definitely over priced. We had their fish special, two appetizers, a bottle of inexpensive wine and one dessert and the bill was $300. The cod fish was not boneless, which I thought for a restaurant of this category it should have been. Overall, ambience and service were great but the food was just ok.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    13
    6
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
“A wounderful lunch with friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

The food , Delicious.! Theres is no Spanish Cusine Rest. in Miami like this.
The service 5 stars. We went with some friends and
had a wounderful lunch time. Everything is first class.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“One of the best spanish restaurants out of Spain.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

With the new Milos restaurant in Miami, la Dorada is the best seafood restaurant in The Miami area. But not only fish, last time we whent they offer me a chickpeas soup, just out of this world. We will come back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Value for a business lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

With a central location in Coral Gables, this great Spanish food Restaurant offers lunch specials at around $20.00 per person... But that is not all... the quality & quantity of the food is perfect and the service is outstanding. A fantastic option at noon that deserves a visit even if it is not for a business meal...

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Spanish food never tasted so good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

I am American born, Cuban parents, Spanish descent... This food was out of this world! Spanish food never tasted like this before! The chanquetes (Baby white fish) with fried eggs and alioli are just so delicious! What a way to start an unforgettable meal. Then we had a lovely salad (lettuce wedges with an amazing dressing). I don't know if it was on the menu. We wanted a salad and he (the owner or manager?) said he would have something different prepared for us. This was brought with delectibly fried sardines. Wow! I don't even like sardines, but my husband does so we had to try them. They were very good! Main course was la Dorada sea bass. Brought out with vegetables. Amazing! The presentation of how they remove the salt and remove the skin is a treat to watch. For dessert I had crema catalana (comfort food...reminds me of my great grandmother). The food is incredible and the service was very good! No complaints. The wine is a bit overpriced. Dinner for two with a bottle of wine, two desserts and espressos...$240 average. Husband returned on business dinner a few weeks after. and everyone in group was "oh'ing and aw'ing" it was so Good!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Dorada also viewed

 

Been to La Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Dorada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.