We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem of Mediterranean Cuisine in Coral Gables.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maroosh

Maroosh
223 Valencia Ave, Coral Gables, FL 33134
(305) 476-9800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 285 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $21 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Miami, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Hidden gem of Mediterranean Cuisine in Coral Gables.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Went there with my co-workers for lunch (about 12 of us), and we're in and out in about an hour and 20 minutes. What took the longest was that each of us wanted individual checks (yes, they will do that for you if you ask). The service was great. They ensured that everything you asked for was exactly what you asked for or wanted. That's always a plus. The food was delicious (I am accustomed to eating Cuban Cuisine). I has the Chicken Kabobs. Others had the veal, and a few others the Kabob Sandwich (there's a difference). Bottom line, all plates were clean at the end and everyone was pleased with their selection. The restaurant seems small, but has seating in the 2nd floor. It even has an elevator. They also appear to have a private room on the second floor in case you'd like to reserve for a private party. The restaurant is well hidden in a back street, therefore I recommend you add the address into your GPS. There are plenty of metered parking spaces surrounding the restaurant. Overall a great experience. I will be going back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    30
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great Med food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We went here and had a variety of appetizers as well as the lamb kabob - the apps were tasty, and the lamb was seasoned to perfection and presented well. Authentic food and a nice location and venue!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Mediterranean on the Atlantic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We had gotten into MIA on a delayed flight (read 3 AM), spent what was left of the rainy night in a cramped, slightly musty airport hotel; two to a bed, already short fuses repeatedly lit and thankfully, as quickly snuffed out. Needless to say that when we all woke and were finally ready to get out at 2 PM the following afternoon, we were quite hungry.

Mediterranean, and I should stress that it's Arab Mediterranean, sounded like comfort food to us - didn't want to do fast food and couldn't deal with the relative sameness of Italian (although all of us are big fans). Hummus, falafel, shawarma, kebabs - mmmmmmm.... how could we go wrong with cuisine that was simple yet flavorful, satisfying AND healthy! Maroosh was the closest such restaurant to us, so we decided to head there. It was a very late lunch by the time we got in and the restaurant was quite deserted. We briefly questioned our choice but decided to stick with it as the ambiance was good with a hint of the owners Arabian heritage showing in the décor and the non-intrusive and pleasant music.

We were quickly and politely seated, waited upon promptly, glasses refilled quickly, order taken professionally; generally our server was very attentive to our needs. And then the food showed up and my, my, it was excellent! It was the best Mediterranean food we'd had in a long time - exactly what we were craving (without really knowing it). We ate our fill and then some... yes, it was that good. We ordered off of the lunch menu so the pricing was also very much in line with our expectations and as a result, we were able to sample more items than we'd have been willing to pay for were we ordering off of the main menu.

A recommendation for the owners - on the dinner menu, please do consider setting up a Tapas style system - I believe it will get more exposure to different menu items and may create more fans of the cuisine.

Also, we noted that as the afternoon progressed, more customers came in and at various stages in their meals complimented the chef on the food and generally appeared pleased with their respective choices. My mouth waters a bit as I write this review but unfortunately don't have the ability to return as readily as I'd like.

This restaurant is a definite visit if you are in the area and in the mood for a well prepared, delicious and reasonably priced meal.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Creek, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Lebanese food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Used to live close by, awesome food (try the appetizer combo to taste a bit of everything!), friendly waiters (sometime a bit slow to serve). Try the Kefraya Lebanese wine, you'll like it if you like wine.
Could be a bit noisy when full.
On Friday and Saturday nights there is a belly dancer which give a touch of exoticism to the experience.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“New favorite Arab restaurant in Miami”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Excellent food at reasonable price. Friendly waiters. Very good and accessible location. Probably best Arab cuisine in Miami


Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maroosh also viewed

 

Been to Maroosh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maroosh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.