We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was average, service was excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maroosh

Maroosh
223 Valencia Ave, Coral Gables, FL 33134
(305) 476-9800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 274 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Price range: $21 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Food was average, service was excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I guess you can say this is a hole-in-the-wall, but that would be grossly understating the place. You can easily drive right by Maroosh if you didn't know it was there. However, the inside is decorated in an almost overly ornate fashion. There's no mistaking that this is meant to be a fine dining establishment, and that is what it is.
The service was attentive without being overbearing. The owner came by to introduce himself and make sure that everything was up to snuff.
Each table receives pitas, olives and pepperoncinis to snack shortly after being seated. The pitas were dry, but the pepperoncinis were lightly pickled and were a nice snack.
We ordered a gyro platter and a curried grouper as the entrees. The gyro platter was tasty, but nothing special. The curried grouper was cooked perfectly. It came off in little flakes and a knife really wasn't needed. The curry sauce that accompanied was tasty. It had a gentle warmth, but it seemed to be missing a little spice that really would've brought that level of comfort that curries can do.
I would skip the desserts unless you like your sweets a little dry. We had the namora, which had a light sweet syrup over a dry cake. I think the intention is to let the syrup soak in and it'll create a moist dessert, but it didn't work. We also had a similar dessert that was stuffed with a sweet cheese (they described it as ricotta-like). While this dessert was better than the namora, it still had a light dryness to it that kept us from appreciating it's flavors.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    26
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
miami, florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Average food with very good service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

I went for lunch last weekend, food was average, a bit disappointed since the previous visit. Service was always very good and so was the wine and dessert.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Villa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Superb!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The food is very, very, very good. It gets a 95 out of 100. The service is somewhat slow, but it does not seem to bother any customer. It was a Sunday and the pace was slow but no one goes for fast food at a Middle Eastern restaurant. We ask for more than a dozen items and everyone was excellent. The prices deserve a more luxurious facility but the food was worth the check price. I strongly recommend this place to anyone who knows lebanese food. I concur with other reviews in that grilled meats are cooked to perfection, specially lamb.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Amazing food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

My husband and I dined at Maroosh for our wedding anniversary. The food was absolutly delicious. The servings were large so we had food left over. We could have ordered one appetizer and one entree instead of two entrees.

The restaurant was very busy and the tables are very close together. So if your looking for a quiet romantic evening, this may not be the best choice.

The belly dancer was entertaining and the ambiance was upbeat. Overall I would recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food for good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012 via mobile

I really enjoyed the food and the service was great. Definitely worth going to and the price was very reasonable. I had the Mediterranean fish... It was tangy, flavorful and cooked perfectly! We decided that they had one of the best falafel we had ever had!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maroosh also viewed

 

Been to Maroosh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maroosh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.