We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“special occasion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Christy's

Christy's
3101 Ponce De Leon Blvd, Coral Gables, FL 33134
3054461400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Christy's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 270 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Malaga and University
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“special occasion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

service was great, food was prepared well. went for my graduation dinner. Baked alaska was cool. It's an elegant place to dine.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    32
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The way it use to be at a Steak House!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We have been eating at Christy's since it opened in Coral Gables. During that time their have been a couple of changes in management and the restaurant had gone through some changes. However ,I am very happy to report that the restaurant is now back to where it was when it began under its present management, the best damn steak house in the Miami area! Sure their are more trendy and much more expensive steak houses now in the Miami area, especially on South Beach, but none can compare to Christys. All the wonderful things that we look for in a steak house are found here. From the Caesar Salad, which comes with all the meals, to the baked potatoes with your choose of all the good things that are to come with a good baked potato, sour cream etc., to all of our favorite steaks, chops and prime rib. Now comes the best part, the old time waiters! Yes all your favorite waiters are still there and frankly there was no reason for them to get better, as they are all at the top of their game. Parking is no longer a problem either, as we are now allowed to park across the street in the public lot. If its been some time since you visited I reccomend that you visit again!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Old fashioned steak house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Wonderful steaks, great Caesar salad (with anchovies, if you like), good bread, not as expensive as Flemings or Ruth Chris, and a very satisfying experience. I have never been disappointed, and I have been going to this restaurant for over 15 years.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami FL
Level Contributor
141 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Prime Rib”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

If you enjoy prime rib then this place is for you. It is one of their specialties and they do it the way I like it-- very rare. Baked potato as a side plus a Caesar's salad. Start with their French onion soup to get into the mood. Excellent service. Only problem is parking. No lot and you feed the meter. 25 cents for 12 minutes but that is Coral Gables!!! Reservations suggested.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
241 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great date night!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Had a great dinner last night at Christy's! Service was super and the food was a wow! While the menu is traditional steakhouse, all the food was great. We had the escargot and oysters rockefeller for appetizers and, of course, filet for dinner. The au poivre sauce was a hit with us. We were very impressed by the inexpensive but well seleted wine list. The atmosphere is consummate steakhouse - burgundy red walls, class art and comfortable furniture. Very well appointed place! It was pricey but worth it. More of a special occasion restaurant. If you haven't tried Christy's, give it a shot. We will surely go back.

One note - there is no valet parking (odd for South Florida and a restaurant of this caliber). There is easy parking on the street (meter) and in the court parking lot across the street.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Christy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Christy's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.