We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No need to travel to Austin, Kansas City or Memphis for BarBQue!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swine Southern Table and Bar

Swine Southern Table and Bar
2415 Ponce de Leon Blvd, Coral Gables, FL 33134
+1 786-360-6433
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Swine Southern Table and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 279 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Miracle Mile
Description: With a man cave feel and in-house smoker that can be smelled from a block away, Swine has received a warm welcome to the Coral Gables neighborhood. Maintaining the same top-notch techniques and standards of hospitality as its sister restaurant, Swine offers a constantly evolving food and beverage menu that work together to create the perfect Southern meal in a down-home, feel good environment. "From the moment you walk in the door, you are completely transported out of Miami," Kunkel says. "Swine provides a full dining experience with an interior that reflects the refinement of the South." It feels barn-like because it is in fact made from reclaimed wood of an actual barn in South Carolina. Housed inside is the state-of-the-art smoker and wood-fired grills, adding a signature flavor and level of authenticity unique to the restaurant.
Miami Beach
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“No need to travel to Austin, Kansas City or Memphis for BarBQue!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Wow...what a feast!
Smoke-filled, tender brisket; the best brussel sprouts ever and
a fabulous dessert...incredible! Our server, Erik, was wonderful
as was the zinfindel wine he recommended.
I've eaten at many of the best bar-b-que restaurants thoughout Texas,
Kansas City, Memphis, and the Carolinas...this was as good as any.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Owner at Swine Southern Table and Bar, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Hi MiamiBeachFrank,

Thanks for taking the time to review Swine. We're so glad you enjoyed your meal with us and find it among the best barbecue. Please come back again soon for another order of those Crispy Brussels Sprouts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    49
    31
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Key West, FL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
“Atmosphere, food, server will keep us coming back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

First time at Swine, for brunch. The food is nothing short of amazing. The decor and atmosphere are great. Obviously, a lot of planning and thought went into every detail. Last but not least our server--Cameron was wonderful. Very personable and knowledgeable about the food/menu, and drinks. For all these reasons we highly recommend and can't wait to return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Owner at Swine Southern Table and Bar, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Hi GSRB,

Thanks for taking the time to review Swine. We're glad you enjoyed your dining experience with us. Please come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
639 reviews 639 reviews
314 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 131 cities Reviews in 131 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
“Expensive but worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

What a unique restaurant from the moment you enter the front door. All brick and 2 stories high. A long communal table is in font of the kitchen. One bar downstairs and a second upstairs. Wine prices by the bottles are expensive but a good list of craft beers. Food was outstanding, I had the smoked brisket which was smoked for 14 hours. And my wife had a1/2 rack of delicious spare ribs which where the meatiest I have ever seen. A very good and knowledgeable wait staff.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Owner at Swine Southern Table and Bar, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Hi Rschagrin,

Thanks for taking the time to review Swine. We're glad you enjoyed your meal with us. Please come back again soon for the 14-Hour House Smoked Brisket and the rest of our delicious barbecue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Really good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

We sat at the bar to wait for the rest of our party and decided to try the drinks. Wow!! The "mexicanstateofmind" was to die for. So delicious w that hint of spice from jalapeño. Really great balance of flavors! Also tried the "oldcuban", a mojito with a twist of champagne never tasted better.
As we sat down at our table we started reading through the menu. Everything seemed so unique.
Appetizers:
-the burnt beef is delicious! It was my favorite! That sauce at the bottom of the pan and the overcooked beef just tasted like heaven.
-the fried tomatoes were excellent! I couldn't tell they were tomatoes. And the pork belly on top was just so yummy!
Main course:
-the 14hr smoked brisket was so tender and flavorful.
-the pork loin was very very good. I had leftovers the next day and it tasted even better.
-the rabbit was just great. And the black eyes peas had a great crunch and flavor!
-the ribs were really meaty and tasty. a bit dried for my taste but a bit of sauce over them would have been fantastic. The baked beans on the side were excellent.

I found everything to be really good. Flavors you wouldn't normally put together, they just make them work. I would definitely come back and try the rest of the menu.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“No one should pay $100.00 for barbecue.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Not impressed. Proprietor likely has a very expensive mortgage and customers will be paying it. I ordered several of the meat entrées so that I might sample a large percentage of the menu-but not before waiting an unreasonable amount of time and flagging down a server. (An unreasonable amount of time to order cocktails? hmm.) Here are my thoughts. Beef brisket is so overcooked it would likely be flavorless if it were not brined in whatever marinade the chef has at his disposal. Brisket was not at all lean with plenty of fat and marble present. Half rack of ribs were overpriced-well overpriced and were dry. May I say that there is no place for white bread in an upscale barbecue restaurant? Cocktails were trendy yet again overpriced. Desserts are made on site yet are nothing to write home about. The Decor and the ambience of the restaurant is quite unique and appealing. Yet decor, ambience and a pricey tab do not equate to repeat business. The true barbecue aficionado will look elsewhere when the hankering for BBQ strikes and will not have to look very far.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swine Southern Table and Bar also viewed

 
Coral Gables, FL
 

Been to Swine Southern Table and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swine Southern Table and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.