We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always A Delight” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bulla Gastrobar

Bulla Gastrobar
2500 Ponce de Leon Blvd, Coral Gables, FL 33134
(305) 441-0107
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bulla Gastrobar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 279 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Spanish, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Andalusia Avenue
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Always A Delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Bulla Gastrobar is in the heart of restaurant row in downtown Coral Gables. With it's casual entry at the corner of Anastasia Street and Ponce De Leon Blvd, this gem which is based in the culinary world of northern Spain is an easy win for lunch or dinner. Essentially this is a small plate or tapas experience, though there are indeed full entrees. The cooking comprises the wonders of spanish sauces and seasoning with some entertaining deviations per chef. We prefer the tapas route. And more to the point the Tuna Tartare. It's top drawer. Ripertesque. But that's getting a little ahead....

The full bar offers all manner of exotic drinks. We enjoy the draft beers and the amazing sangria. An introduction to the menu is offered by the friendly servers, and well worth a listen. Over several visits in a short period of time you cut to the chase and prepare for a procession of taste treats. Unless you request, the foods plates are served one at a time and carefully orchestrated by the servers, which often allows two or more diners to sample a wide variety of the chef's fixins.
The lunch and dinner menus differ slightly but three or four dishes per person would do the trick for most. The Andalusia gaszpacho is a virtual cornucopia of fresh vegetable tastes wrapped into one cool and creamy mix. Serrano Ham and the smoked sausages are good for starters as well. The cheese plates are both traditional and blends: well worth savoring as you await the main (small) plates.
Here Bulla's kitchen shines with delightful and creative fare ranging from grilled pork to sauteed shrimp, from veal and pork meatballs to crispy potato cubes. Each stands alone. Each is great in combination. Let your server suggest...
The regular entrees are also remarkable. The churrasco plate, and grilled organic salmon are superb. Suckling pig with oyster mushrooms is a favorite.

Lunch sandwiches are SIZABLE and tasty. The pan seared pork loin and grilled chicken breast won't disappoint.

Bulla has earned a well deserved reputation and become a staple in the wild and wonderful world of Coral Gables culinary destinations. It's a bit pricey. But considering the level of food and service it's also a bit worth it. Enjoy

Reservations on the weekends and/or weekday happy hour would be wise.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    46
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“No bull! Bulla is great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This restaurant is located at the old Por Fin space in Coral Gables and even though both restaurants specialized in Spanish cuisine they are (were) worlds apart. Bulla is a step up from the outstanding service to the well-priced menu. The price justifies the excellent, savory food. We took advantage of the Miami Spice menu which included an appetizer, entreé and dessert. I sampled the croquetas de cangrejo (crab cakes) which came on top of a apricot and watercress salad embelished with a subtle lemon vinaigrette. Delicious! Next came the main entreé which was a halibut a la Vizcaína with clams, calamari (steamed, not fried) and basmatti rice. The sauce was just right, not too overpowering. To cap the meal I had the Flan de Coco as the dessert selection. Again, just right not too sweet or creamy. Being a gastrobar, they also have a good selection of wines (from Spain, of course), beers and other well drinks & spirits. The ambience was also enjoyable, although I would say it could be enjoyed more with a group of friends than as a romantic date.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dania Beach, FL
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Spanish food with unusual names”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Last week my family and I ended up in Bulla Gastrobar almost by accident. We were looking for a Spanish restaurant in Coral Gables and voila! It was a Tuesday night so it was not very busy.
We ordered different tapas (small appetizers), one main dish, and two desserts to share. It was more than enough.

The food was really good. I was particularly surprised with the gazpacho – for a cold soup it was much better than I expected. Our entrée was one of the specials: monk fish with clams, shrimp, and calamari in a red sauce, very good as well.

We had a great time at Bulla. Our waiter, James, was very nice and attentive. I would go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Best outside of Spain thus far”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We took advantage of the Miami Spice month and tried out their fixed lunch menu. It was very good, the best Spanish food on this side of the ocean thus far. Spanish food is usually pricey and this restaurant is not the exception. Drinks are as usual pricey. Service was very good with the only exception that the toddler chair was very wobbly notwithstanding that the chair has a warning label requiring frequent inspection. I actually tightened the screws with my finger, that's how lose the chair was. Eventually they replaced it but this should not be happening at a restaurant of this level.

I would recommend this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenos aires
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
“Dinner Miami Spice 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Very nice restaurant located 2 blocks away from Coral Gables core main streets. Located on a corner this chic and modern place offers excellent spanish food , service and music. I was delighted with the friendly and accurate service and the music selection.
From the Miami Spice options we chose the tortilla, embutidos, churrasco con verduras, canelones de pollo, brownie con helado de chocolate and crema catalana. We drank cerveza con sangria: delicious.
Every dish was perfect and the quality was excellent.
Definitely I will return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bulla Gastrobar also viewed

 

Been to Bulla Gastrobar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bulla Gastrobar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.