We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food! Beautiful Cuban decor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Azucar

Azucar
2 Aragon Avenue, Coral Gables, FL
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 280 Restaurants in Coral Gables
Cuisines: Cuban
Restaurant details
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great food! Beautiful Cuban decor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Went for the first time, and tried a sampling of tamales, masitas, yuca fritas. This really took me back in time when I as little and my family would make these dishes, not everyone can make authentic cuban dishes, my compliments to the chef!

The bar was beautifully design and the decor of old Cuba was wonderful to see, good taste in the design of this restaurant. They had live music, full of cuban dance songs which was wonderful to hear again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    4
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We visited this past Friday for happy hour and wind up staying for dinner. The service was excellent, lead by Spencer the bartender. The appetizers were all good and fresh, as well as the large Cuban sandwich which we split. We ate at the bar, a beautiful and very traditional Cuban bar. The live music was Cuban, traditional Cuban music, by Havana Soul, inviting one to dance. The place was packed and very lively. The wine list by the glass can use some improvement by adding more French and Spanish wines, but everything else was very good. They take care of every detail and you can tell that they want their food to be the best. Service could not be better. We will definitely be coming back soon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“The hands down best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I go to Azucar every Friday the atmosphere is just incredible from the friendly staff to the incredible and I mean the incredible food. I'm Cuban and this is the best Cuban food I have had and the desserts are awesome this restaurant is my home away from home if you want great time swing by especially on Friday you won't be sorry.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Cuban American Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

As a Cuban American born and raised in Miami but living in Marco Island , It's hard to keep up with the Miami Crowd and new spots. I will share that I have found a home away from home!
This Restaurant/Bar/Dance club is an amazing place to come and eat real Cuban Cuisine by an amazing Chef Nick! You can feel the fun and dedication that the owners have for Azucar.
If you want to have an amazing time, dance , fun and eat Cuban Cuisine this is the place to be in Coral Gables, my favorite is Friday Nights! Highly Recommended!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great food and best the live music Perfect place to eat and dance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Great food, service is very friendly, the prices are very affortables and best of all the lovely music made the place very fin to be.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azucar also viewed

 

Been to Azucar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azucar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.